clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Mendy, Gallagher, Kerr, Hayes receive honors at London Football Awards

Congrats to all!

The London Football Awards Photo by Eamonn M. McCormack/Getty Images for London Football Awards

Over the past decade or so, the London Football Awards have aimed to acknowledge the footballing achievements of players, coaches and clubs in the capital, with the funds raised from the awards ceremony itself supporting the Willow Foundation. Chelsea, as usual, came home with a number of awards after a remarkable year of sporting heights.

Best in the world Édouard Mendy claimed the the Goalkeeper of the Year honor, adding to his long list of achievements in the past 12 months, including the UEFA Champions League, UEFA Super Cup, the Africa Cup of Nations, as well as FIFA’s The Best individual recognition. Mendy is the second Chelsea player to receive the honor, following Thibaut Courtois in 2014-15.

Conor Gallager’s emergence at Crystal Palace this season has seen him bag the Men’s Young Player of Year award. Gallagher has scored eight goals and five assists this season already.

On the women’s side, Sam Kerr received the FA Women’s Super League Player of the Year award. Fran Kirby won in the same category last year. Kerr is enjoying another excellent campaign, having scored 18 goals in 22 appearances this season.

Finally, Emma Hayes collected the already announced Outstanding Contribution to London Football award, decided by an independent panel of judges. She joins Frank Lampard, John Terry, Arsène Wenger, Ian Wright, Glenn Hoddle, Les Ferdinand and Roy Hodgson in winning this prestigious award.

West Ham’s Declan Rice and David Moyes won the Premier League Player and Manager awards, respectively, with Tottenham’s Jessica Naz collecting the Women’s Young Player of the Year accolade.

The full list of nominees are (winners in bold):

English Football League Player of the Year: Ilias Chair (Queens Park Rangers), Neeskens Kebano (Fulham), Aleksandar Mitrović (Fulham), Chris Willock (Queens Park Rangers), Harry Wilson (Fulham)

Premier League Player of the Year: Jarrod Bowen (West Ham United), Jorginho (Chelsea), Declan Rice (West Ham United), Antonio Rüdiger (Chelsea), Thiago Silva (Chelsea)

LFA Goal of the Season: Conor Gallagher (Crystal Palace), Andre Gray (QPR), Sam Kerr (Chelsea Women), Mateo Kovačić (Chelsea), Hakim Ziyech (Chelsea)

Goalkeeper of the Year: Dean Bouzanis (Sutton United), Łukasz Fabiański (West Ham United), Hugo Lloris (Tottenham Hotspur), Édouard Mendy (Chelsea), Aaron Ramsdale (Arsenal)

Manager of the Year: Matt Gray (Sutton United), David Moyes (West Ham United), Marco Silva (Fulham), Thomas Tuchel (Chelsea), Patrick Vieira (Crystal Palace)

Community Project of the Year: Arsenal Supporting Supporters (Arsenal Foundation), No To Hate (Chelsea Foundation), Long Live the Prince (QPR in the Community Trust)

Women’s Young Player of the Year: Mel Filis (West Ham United Women), Esther Morgan (Tottenham Hotspur Women), Jessica Naz (Tottenham Hotspur Women)

Men’s Young Player of the Year: Fabio Carvalho (Fulham), Conor Gallagher (Crystal Palace), Tyrick Mitchell (Crystal Palace), Bukayo Saka (Arsenal), Oliver Skipp (Tottenham Hotspur)

The FA Women’s Player of the Year: Mackenzie Arnold (West Ham United Women), Sam Kerr (Chelsea Women), Kim Little (Arsenal Women), Katie McCabe (Arsenal Women), Leah Williamson (Arsenal Women)

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the We Ain't Got No History Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Chelsea news from We Ain't Got No History