clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Plethora of Chelsea players, coaches nominated for London Football Awards


Bristol City Women v Chelsea Women - FA Women’s Continental Tyres League Cup Final Photo by Harriet Lander - Chelsea FC/Chelsea FC via Getty Images

The season for Chelsea is not yet over, but award season just cannot wait as the London Football Awards 2021 nominees have been announced today.

And we have numerous Chelsea names among them in several categories, all of them well deserved and many likely to come out as eventual winners.

On the men’s side, we have Mason Mount nominated for Player of the Year, and also as Young Player of the Year alongside teammate Reece James. Veteran Olivier Giroud joins the pair with a Goal of the Season contender, his bicycle kick against Atlético Madrid in the Champions League Round of 16 first leg. Mr. Clean Sheets Édouard Mendy nabs a nomination for Goalkeeper of the Year.

On the women’s side, the highlight is manager Emma Hayes going up against four men for Manager of the Year. We also have Fran Kirby and Pernille Harder as contenders for Women’s Super League Player of the Year, and Niamh Charles as a Women’s Young Player of Year nominee.

Chelsea Foundation’s Refuge Appeal was also nominated for Community Project of the Year.

The winners are going to be announced on April 27, at 7pm local time.

The full list of nominees, as per the Evening Standard, is as follows:

Premier League Player of the Year (2020/21 Season)

  • Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur)
  • Son Heung-Min (Tottenham Hotspur)
  • Declan Rice (West Ham)
  • Tomáš Souček (West Ham)
  • Mason Mount (Chelsea)

Manager of the Year (2020/21 Season)

  • Emma Hayes (Chelsea)
  • David Moyes (West Ham)
  • Scott Parker (Fulham)
  • Thomas Frank (Brentford)
  • Roy Hodgson (Crystal Palace)

EFL Player of the Year (2020/21 Season)

  • Ivan Toney (Brentford)
  • Bryan Mbeumo (Brentford)
  • Joe Pigott (AFC Wimbledon)
  • Jobi McAnuff (Leyton Orient)
  • Joao Pedro (Watford)

Goalkeeper of the Year (2020/21 Season)

  • Édouard Mendy (Chelsea)
  • Alphonse Areola (Fulham)
  • Bartosz Białkowski (Millwall)
  • Łukasz Fabiański (West Ham)
  • Vincente Guaita (Crystal Palace)

The FA Women’s Super League Player of the Year (2020/21 Season)

  • Vivianne Miedema (Arsenal)
  • Fran Kirby (Chelsea)
  • Jennifer Beattie (Arsenal)
  • Pernille Harder (Chelsea)
  • Leah Williamson (Arsenal)

Women’s Young Player of Year (2020/21 Season)

  • Angela Addison (Tottenham Hotspur)
  • Niamh Charles (Chelsea)
  • Malin Gut (Arsenal)

Young Player of the Year (2020/21 Season)

  • Bukayo Saka (Arsenal)
  • Mason Mount (Chelsea)
  • Declan Rice (West Ham)
  • Emile Smith-Rowe (Arsenal)
  • Reece James (Chelsea)

Outstanding Contribution to London Football Award

  • To be awarded to Roy Hodgson

Goal of the Season (2020/21 Season)

  • Erik Lamela - Arsenal v Tottenham Hotspur (14th March 2021)
  • Manuel Lanzini - Tottenham Hotspur v West Ham (18th October 2020)
  • Eberechi Eze - Crystal Palace v Sheffield United (2nd January 2021)
  • Olivier Giroud - Atletico Madrid v Chelsea (23rd February 2021)
  • Sébastian Haller - West Ham v Crystal Palace (16th December 2020)

Community Project of the Year (2020)

  • Dons Local Action Group (AFC Wimbledon Foundation)
  • Arsenal Together (Arsenal In The Community)
  • Refuge Appeal (Chelsea Foundation)

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the We Ain't Got No History Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Chelsea news from We Ain't Got No History