clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Sophie Ingle nominated for 2020 FIFA Puskás Award; Hayes, Harder, Kerr, Berger, Ji also up for ‘The Best’ awards


Chelsea FC Women midfielder Sophie Ingle has been nominated for the 2020 FIFA Puskás Award, which is the annual award given to “the best goal of the year” — as long as that goal is a powerful long-range effort, preferably scored first-time.

The homogeneity of the 11 nominated goals aside, there are certainly some tremendous strikes in there, including a perfect bicycle kick, a left-footed volley a la Zidane or Matić, and goals from neighboring zip codes hit at impossible velocity.

Ingle’s left-footed strike against Arsenal absolutely fits that mold, and you can vote for her at FIFA’s official website. The fan vote will make up 50 per cent of the total tally for the three final nominees, from whom FIFA will pick the ultimate winner.

The other nominees include Shirley Cruz, Giorgian De Arrascaeta, Jordan Flores, Andre-Pierre Gignac, Zlatko Junuzović, Hlompho Kekana, Leonel Quiñonez, Son Heung-min, Luis Suárez, Caroline Weir.

The winner will be announced on December 17, alongside all the other FIFA ‘The Best’ awards.

Speaking of which, Emma Hayes was nominated for ‘The Best’ FIFA Women’s Coach, Ann-Katrin Berger for the ‘The Best’ FIFA Women’s Goalkeeper, and Pernille Harder, Sam Kerr, and Ji So-Yun for ‘The Best’ FIFA Women’s Player.

Congrats to all!

And vote now.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the We Ain't Got No History Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Chelsea news from We Ain't Got No History