clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Middlesbrough vs. Chelsea, League Cup semifinal: Live blog; highlights

...as it happened: live blog, updates, highlights, lineups, comments, etc.

Middlesbrough v Chelsea - Carabao Cup Semi Final First Leg Photo by Chris Lee - Chelsea FC/Chelsea FC via Getty Images

Welcome to the first leg of the League Cup semifinal. This is the away leg, with the home leg to follow in a fortnight. Wembley, and the winners of Liverpool vs. Fulham, await the winners here.

Mauricio Pochettino makes a couple changes from Saturday’s 4-0 win, including up top, where we have no recognized striker. We haven’t seen that look in a few months. Plenty of Academy talent on the bench as well.

Here we go!


Middlesbrough starting XI:
Glover | Van Den Berg, Barlaser, Fry, Hackney, Latte Lath, I.Jones, Howson (c), Bangura, Crooks, Engel

Substitutes from: J.Jones, Clarke, Gilbert, Coburn, O’Brien, Kavanagh, McCabe, Bridge, Bilongo

Chelsea starting lineup (4-3-3)
Petrović | Colwill, Silva, Disasi, Gusto | Enzo, Gallagher (c), Caicedo | Palmer, Sterling, Madueke

Substitutes from: Bettinelli, Bergström, Gilchrist, Williams, Golding, Mudryk, Washington, Broja


Date / Time: Tuesday, January 9, 2023, 20.00 GMT; 3pm EST; 1:30am IST (next day)
Venue: Riverside Stadium, Middlesbrough
Referee: Sam Barrott (on pitch); no VAR because Boro’s stadium doesn’t have the necessary equipment

On TV: Sky Sports Main Event (UK); none (USA); none (India); SuperSport Premier League (NGA); elsewhere
Streaming: Sky Go (UK); ESPN+ (USA); FanCode (India); DStv Now (NGA)


LIVE BLOG


Be excellent to each other, and party on, dudes!

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the We Ain't Got No History Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Chelsea news from We Ain't Got No History