clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Newcastle United vs. Chelsea, Premier League: Live blog; highlights

...as it happened: live blog, updates, highlights, lineups, comments, etc.

Newcastle United v Chelsea FC - Premier League Photo by Alex Dodd - CameraSport via Getty Images

Welcome to Newcastle, where Chelsea will be hoping, wishing, wanting to pick up right where we left off prior to the break. We’ve played some excellent, enterprising, succssful football against the best teams in the league more than a few times already this season; we’ll have to do the same here!

Mauricio Pochettino chose not to make too many drastic changes to the lineup that’s been working so far, but Caicedo’s late return from international duty drops him to the bench and Badiashile’s preferred ahead of both Colwill and Disasi.

Here we go!


Newcastle United starting lineup (4-3-3):
Pope | Livramento, Schär, Lascelles (c), Trippier | Joelinton, Miley, Bruno G. | Gordon, Isak, Almirón

Substitutes from: Dúbravka, Gillespie, Karius, Dummett, Ritchie, Diallo, A.Murphy, Ndiweni, Parkinson

Chelsea team news (4-2-3-1):
Sánchez | Cucurella, Badiashile, Silva, James (c) | Enzo, Ugochukwu | Sterling, Gallagher, Palmer | Jackson

Substitutes from: Petrović, Disasi, Colwill, Maatsen, Caicedo, Madueke, Mudryk, Matos, Broja


Date / Time: Saturday, November 25, 2023, 15.00 GMT; 10am EST; 8:30pm IST
Venue: St James’ Park, Newcastle upon Tyne
Referee: Simon Hooper (on pitch): John Brooks (VAR)

On TV: none (UK); none (USA); Star Sports Select HD1 (India); SuperSport Premier League, Canal+ Sport 3 (NGA); elsewhere
Streaming: none (UK); Peacock (USA); Hotstar (India); DStv Now (NGA)


LIVE BLOG


Be excellent to each other, and party on, dudes!

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the We Ain't Got No History Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Chelsea news from We Ain't Got No History