clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Everton vs. Chelsea, Premier League: Live blog; highlights

...as it happened: live blog, updates, highlights, lineups, comments, etc.

Everton FC v Chelsea FC - Premier League Photo by Michael Regan/Getty Images

After eleven weeks that barely felt like three, Chelsea are back and the new Premier League season is underway. It promises to be a most dramatic and strange one, given the first-ever winter World Cup coming up, but perhaps we can start it with something we also haven’t seen in some time — five years, to be exact — a win at Goodison!

Thomas Tuchel has stuck with his favored 3-4-3, and there are no real surprises in the lineup, but we have a few new faces who can hopefully make a great difference.

Here we go!


Everton starting XI:
Pickford (c) | Patterson, Mina, Godfrey, Tarkowski, Mykolenko, Doucouré, Iwobi, Gordon, McNeil, Gray

Substitutes from: Begović, Holgate, Keane, Allan, Dele, Gbamin, Vinagre, Warrington, Mills

Chelsea starting lineup (3-4-3):
Mendy | Koulibaly, Silva, Azpilicueta (c) | Chilwell, Jorginho, Kanté, James | Sterling, Havertz, Mount

Substitutes from: Arrizabalaga, Cucurella, Chalobah, Gallagher, Kovačić, Loftus-Cheek, Pulisic, Ziyech, Broja


Date / Time: Saturday, August 6, 17.30 BST; 12:30pm EDT; 10pm IST
Venue: Goodison Park, Liverpool, England
Referee: Craig Pawson (on pitch); John Brooks (VAR)

On TV: Sky Sports Main Event (UK); USA Network, Universo (USA); Star Sports Select HD1 (India); SuperSport Premier League (NGA); elsewhere
Streaming: Sky Go (UK); NBC Sports, Telemundo Deportes En Vivo (USA); Hotstar (India); DStv Now (NGA)


LIVE BLOG


Be excellent to each other, and party on, dudes!

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the We Ain't Got No History Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Chelsea news from We Ain't Got No History