clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Chelsea vs. Leicester City, Premier League: Live blog; highlights

...as it happened: live blog, updates, highlights, lineups, comments, etc.

Chelsea FC v Leicester City - Premier League Photo by David Rogers/Getty Images

Back at Stamford Bridge, for match number four of the young season. Which Chelsea will turn up tonight? We’re about to find out!

The WAGNH community were hoping for starts for Trevoh Chalobah and Conor Gallagher, and Tuchel, who’s banned from the touchline for this game, has obliged once again.

Unlike the community, Tuchel seems to have gone with a back-four: at least that’s what the official Chelsea Twitter account’s graphic seems to suggest. It could of course be a back-three (Chalobah-Silva-James) with Cucurella and RLC as wing-backs. Or some sort of hybrid of the two.

Here we go!


Chelsea starting lineup (4-3-3)
Mendy | Cucurella, Chalobah, Silva, James | Loftus-Cheek, Jorginho (c), Gallagher | Sterling, Havertz, Mount

Substitutes from: Arrizabalaga, Ampadu, Azpilicueta, Chilwell, Kovačić, Hudson-Odoi, Pulisic, Ziyech, Broja

Leicester City starting XI:
Ward | Castagne, Evans (c), Amartey, Justin, Dewsbury-Hall, Praet, Soumaré, Tielemans, Barnes, Vardy

Substitutes from: Iversen, Söyüncü, Thomas, Ndidi, Mendy, Albrighton, Pérez, Iheanacho, Daka


Date / Time: Saturday, August 27, 2022, 15.00 BST; 10am EDT; 7:30pm IST
Venue: Stamford Bridge
Referee: Paul Tierney (on pitch); Andre Marriner (VAR)

On TV: none (UK); none (USA); Star Sports Select HD2 (India); NTA Sport 24 (NGA); elsewhere
Streaming: none (UK); Peacock (USA); Hotstar (India); SuperSport GOtv (NGA)


LIVE BLOG


Be excellent to each other, and party on, dudes!

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the We Ain't Got No History Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Chelsea news from We Ain't Got No History