clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Arsenal vs. Chelsea, Friendly: Live blog, highlights

...as it happened: live blog, updates, highlights, lineups, comments, etc.

Chelsea v Arsenal - Florida Cup Photo by Darren Walsh/Chelsea FC via Getty Images

Third pre-season match for Chelsea, the last one in the United States before the Blues return to the “Old World” and take on Udinese in Italy in their last game before real football starts. Match fitness remains the main target, but showing a bit of muscle against Arsenal of all teams would certainly be welcomed.

The starting lineup is not at all surprising with most of our strongest players lined up for a derby overseas. What could be surprising is Thomas Tuchel lining his team outside of 3-4-3 “limits”, although this might be proven wrong once we kick-off.

Let’s do this!


Arsenal starting XI (4-2-3-1):
Ramsdale | White, Saliba, Gabriel, Zinchenko | Partey, Xhaka | Saka, Odegaard, Martinelli | Jesus

Substitutes from: Turner, Bellerin, Walters, Cedric, Tavares, Mari, Holding, Maitland-Niles, Lokonga, Elneny, Marquinhos, Pepe, Nelson, Balogun, Knetiah

Chelsea starting lineup (4-2-3-1):
Mendy | James, Chalobah, Thiago Silva, Emerson | Gallagher, Jorginho (c) | Mount, Sterling, Havertz | Werner

Substitutes from: Bettinelli, Sharman-Lowe, Alonso, Azpilicueta, Chilwell, Ampadu, Koulibaly, Sarr, Kovacic, Hudson-Odoi, Pulisic, Ziyech, Batshuayi


Date / Time: Saturday, July 23, 2022, 8:00pm EDT; 1:00 BST (next day); 5:30am IST (next day)
Venue: Camping World Stadium, Orlando, FL, USA

On TV: none (USA); none (UK); Sony TEN 1 (India); SuperSport MaXimo 2, SuperSport Premier League (NGA); elsewhere
Streaming: ESPN+ (USA); Chelsea TV (UK); Sony LIV, JioTV (India); DStv Now (NGA)


LIVE BLOG


Be excellent to each other, and party on, dudes!

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the We Ain't Got No History Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Chelsea news from We Ain't Got No History