clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Chelsea vs. Wolverhampton Wanderers, Premier League: Live blog; highlights

...as it happened: live blog, updates, highlights, lineups, comments, etc.

Chelsea v Wolverhampton Wanderers - Premier League Photo by Jack Thomas - WWFC/Wolves via Getty Images

While the transaction is not quite completed as it’s pending regulatory approvals, this is essentially the first game of the new era, the first game since 2003 with an owner other than Roman Abramovich.

Incidentally, Tuchel’s first game was also a home game against Wolves. That ended 0-0, so let’s try to do better this time around. Lukaku and Pulisic both start!

Here we go!


Chelsea starting lineup (3-4-3):
Mendy | Rüdiger, Silva, Azpilicueta (c) | Alonso, Loftus-Cheek, Kovačić, James | Werner, Lukaku, Pulisic

Substitutes form: Arrizabalaga, Chalobah, Christensen, Sarr, Barkley, Saúl, Mount, Havertz, Ziyech

Wolverhampton starting lineup (3-5-2):
Sá | Saiss, Coady (c), Boly | Aït-Nouri, Moutinho, Neves, Dendoncker, Jonny | Neto, Jiménez

Substitutes from: Ruddy, Hoever, Marçal, Trincão, Silva, Chiquinho, Toti, Hwang, Cundle


Date / Time: Saturday, May 7, 2022, 15.00 BST; 10am EDT; 7:30pm IST
Venue: Stamford Bridge, SW6
Referee: Peter Bankes (on pitch); Jared Gillett (VAR)

On TV: none (UK); USA Network, Universo (USA); Star Sports Select HD2 (India); SuperSport Premier League, Canal+ Sport 3 (NGA); elsewhere
Streaming: none (UK); NBC Sports Live, Universo Now (USA); Hotstar (India); DStv Now (NGA)


LIVE BLOG


Be excellent to each other, and party on, dudes!

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the We Ain't Got No History Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Chelsea news from We Ain't Got No History