clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Chelsea vs. Newcastle United, Premier League: Live blog; highlights

...as it happened: live blog, updates, highlights, lineups, comments, etc.

FBL-ENG-PR-CHELSEA-NEWCASTLE-UKRAINE-CONFLICT-SANCTIONS Photo by JUSTIN TALLIS/AFP via Getty Images

Are you ready for some ... football!? Let’s hope the players are, despite all that’s going on.

Both teams are in great form coming in, and both teams have gone for strong lineups, with Tuchel opting for what looks like a back-four, at least until kick-off when we’ll find out what it actually is (4-2-2-2? 4-3-3? Something else?).

Here we go!


Chelsea starting lineup (4-2-2-2):
Mendy | Sarr, Rüdiger, Christensen, Chalobah | Jorginho (c), Kanté | Ziyech, Mount | Werner, Havertz

Substitutes form: Arrizabalaga, Silva, Alonso, Barkley, Kovačić, Loftus-Cheek, Saúl, Pulisic, Lukaku

Newcastle United starting lineup (5-2-3):
Dúbravka | Targett, Burn, Lascelles (c), Schär, Manquillo | Longstaff, Bruno G | Murphy, Wood, Almirón

Substitutes from: Darlow, Krafth, Gillespie, Fraser, Dummett, Gayle, Saint-Maximin, De Bolle, Ritchie


Date / Time: Sunday, March 13, 2022, 14.00 GMT; 10am EDT (spring forward!); 7:30pm IST
Venue: Stamford Bridge, SW6
Referee: David Coote (on pitch); John Brooks (VAR)

On TV: Sky Sports Main Event (UK); none (USA); Star Sports Select HD1 (India); SuperSport Premier League; Canal+ Sport 3 (NGA); elsewhere
Streaming: Sky Go (UK); Peacock (USA); Hotstar (India); DStv Now (NGA)


LIVE BLOG


Be excellent to each other, and party on, dudes!