clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Chelsea vs. Liverpool, League Cup Final: Live blog; highlights

...as it happened: live blog, updates, highlights, lineups, comments, etc.

FBL-ENG-LCUP-CHELSEA-LIVERPOOL Photo by JUSTIN TALLIS/AFP via Getty Images

Time to focus on the football for a bit, as we contest the third final of the season already and our fifth since Tuchel’s arrival at the club. We haven’t won the League Cup since 2014-15, which, incidentally, makes it the trophy we’ve currently gone the longest without winning.

You play your best hand in a final, and that is the case for both teams, with Liverpool also getting a welcome boost in Diogo Jota’s return from injury, though only on the bench. Speaking of the bench, Tuchel leaves Lukaku on it for the second match in a row, while it looks like Ziyech must not have recovered well enough from his knock midweek after all. Mount comes in for him, with Chalobah replacing Christensen at the back.

Here we go!


Chelsea starting lineup (3-4-3):
Mendy | Rüdiger, Silva, Chalobah | Alonso, Kovačić, Kanté, Azpilicueta (c) | Pulisic, Havertz, Mount

Substitutes from: Arrizabalaga, James, Sarr, Jorginho, Loftus-Cheek, Saúl, Hudson-Odoi, Lukaku, Werner

Liverpool starting lineup (4-3-3):
Kelleher | Robertson, Van Dijk, Matip, Alexander-Arnold | Henderson, Thiago, Fabinho | Mané, Salah, Díaz

Substitutes from: Alisson, Konaté, Milner, Keïta, Oxlade-Chamberlain, Minamino, Jota, Tsimikas, Origi


Date / Time: Sunday, February 27, 2022, 16.30 GMT; 11:30am EST; 10pm IST
Venue: Wembley, London, England
Referee: Stuart Attwell (on pitch); Darren England (VAR)

On TV: Sky Sports Main Event (UK); none (USA); MTV (India); SupertSport Premier League (NGA); elsewhere
Streaming: Sky Go (UK); ESPN+ (USA); JioTV, Voot (India); DStv Now (NGA)


LIVE BLOG


Be excellent to each other, and party on, dudes!