clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Chelsea vs. Lille, Champions League: Live blog; highlights

...as it happened: live blog, updates, highlights, lineups, comments, etc.

Chelsea FC v Lille OSC: Round Of Sixteen Leg One - UEFA Champions League Photo by Chris Lee - Chelsea FC/Chelsea FC via Getty Images

Back in European action after a three-month break, with French outfit Lille visiting Stamford Bridge in the first leg of the Champions League’s round of 16.

Although we have a good record against Lille as of late and their far from ideal form in France, we cannot let our guard down against them. Hence the call for what is maybe our strongest lineup given player availability, with Kai Havertz leading the attacking line and the Kanté-Kovacic pairing in central midfield.


Chelsea starting lineup (3-4-3?):
Mendy | Christensen, Thiago Silva, Rüdiger | Azpilicueta (c), Kanté, Kovacic, Alonso | Pulisic, Havertz, Ziyech

Substitutes from: Kepa, Bettinelli, Jorginho, Lukaku, Werner, Loftus-Cheek, Chalobah, Saúl, Mount, Kenedy, Sarr, Vale

Lille starting lineup (4-4-2?):
Leo Jardim | Çelik, Botman, Fonte, Djaló | André, Xeka, Onana, Sanches | Bamba, David

Substitutes from: Grbic, Raux, Gudmundsson, Ben Arfa, Yilmaz, Lihadji, Gomes, Weah, Zhegrova, Bradaric


Date / Time: Tuesday, February 22, 2022, 20.00 GMT; 3pm EST; 1:30am IST (next day)
Venue: Stamford Bridge, SW6
Referee: Jesús Gil Manzano (on pitch); Alejandro Hernández (VAR)

On TV: BT Sport 2 (UK); CBS, Galavision (US); Sony TEN 2 (India); SuperSport MaXimo 1, Canal+ Sport 3 (NGA); elsewhere
Streaming: BTSport.com (UK); Paramount+, TUDNxtra (US); Sony LIV (India); DSTv Now (NGA)


LIVE BLOG


Be excellent to each other, and party on, dudes!