clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2022 World Cup, Day 9: Cameroon vs. Serbia; South Korea vs. Ghana; Brazil vs. Switzerland; Portugal vs. Uruguay

Groups G & H in action

FBL-WC-2022-PRESSER-CMR
The legendary Rigobert Song
Photo by ISSOUF SANOGO/AFP via Getty Images

What drama awaits today as we finish out the second round of group games at the 2022 World Cup? Will we see more upsets? More comebacks? And who will bring their true selves? No one seems to know what will happen at this World Cup with any certainty, but in a way, that’s fantastic!


CAMEROON vs. SERBIA

Date / Time: Monday, November 28, 2022, 10.00 GMT; 5am EST
Venue: Al Janoub Stadium, Al Wakrah, Qatar
Referee: Mohamed Abdulla Hassan Mohd (UAE)

On TV: ITV 1 (UK); Fox Sports 1, Telemundo (USA); elsewhere
Streaming online: ITV Hub (UK); FOX Sports Live, Telemundo Deportes En Vivo (USA)

Chelsea interest: Two teams who were expected to put up a strong fight in their first game, and didn’t quite manage to do so, losing to Switzerland and Brazil, respectively. Defeat for either here would mean elimination. Questions still linger over the fitness of Aleksandar Mitrović, and his fitness will be a big determining factor in Serbia’s ambitions.

FBL-WC-2022-PRESSER-KOR Photo by JUNG YEON-JE/AFP via Getty Images

SOUTH KOREA vs. GHANA

Date / Time: Monday, November 28, 2022, 13.00 GMT; 8am EST
Venue: Education City Stadium, Al Rayyan, Qatar
Referee: Anthony Taylor (England)

On TV: ITV 1 (UK); Fox Sports 1, Telemundo (USA); elsewhere
Streaming online: ITV Hub (UK); FOX Sports Live, Telemundo Deportes En Vivo (USA)

Chelsea interest: Two more teams who disappointed a bit in their first games, with South Korea settling for a 0-0 draw against Uruguay and Ghana losing by the odd goal in five against Portugal, with all five goals coming in a dramatic final 25 minutes. Chelsea loanee Baba Rahman featured for all 90 minutes in that one, and should keep his place for today.

Brazil v Serbia: Group G - FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022 Photo by Visionhaus/Getty Images

BRAZIL vs. SWITZERLAND

Date / Time: Monday, November 28, 2022, 16.00 GMT; 11am EST
Venue: Education City Stadium, Al Rayyan, Qatar
Referee: Iván Cisneros (El Salvador)

On TV: ITV 1 (UK); Fox, Telemundo (USA); elsewhere
Streaming online: ITV Hub (UK); FOX Sports Live, Telemundo Deportes En Vivo (USA)

Chelsea interest: Brazil were one of the few big favorites to play up to expectations in their first game, though they will be without Neymar in this one due to an injury he suffered in that 2-0 win over Serbia. The ageless wonder Thiago Silva should be starting as usual. Chelsea teammate Dennis Zakaria did not feature in their 1-0 win over Cameroon. He’s used to that feeling.

World Cup 2022 - Brazil - Serbia Photo by Tom Weller/picture alliance via Getty Images

PORTUGAL vs. URUGUAY

Date / Time: Monday, November 28, 2022, 19.00 GMT; 2pm EST
Venue: Lusail Iconic Stadium, Lusail, Qatar
Referee: Alireza Faghani (Iran)

On TV: ITV 1 (UK); Fox, Telemundo (USA); elsewhere
Streaming online: ITV Hub (UK); FOX Sports Live, Telemundo Deportes En Vivo (USA)

Chelsea interest: A few years ago, a primetime matchup of Cristiano Ronaldo and Luis Suárez would have been must-watch viewing. These days .... ehnnh. Portugal do have other exciting young players though — some still ahead of their inevitable turns in the rumor mill — and would clinch a place in the Round of 16 with a win.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the We Ain't Got No History Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Chelsea news from We Ain't Got No History