clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Juventus vs. Chelsea, Champions League: Live blog; highlights

...as it happened: live blog, updates, highlights, lineups, comments, etc.

Juventus’ Allianz Stadium Marks 10 Years Photo by Daniele Badolato - Juventus FC/Juventus FC via Getty Images

Juventus and Chelsea both won on matchday 1, and this game will likely go a long ways towards deciding who will finish top of the group after matchday 6. Juventus started the season badly, but have been improving. Chelsea meanwhile are looking to bounce back from the first defeat of the season last weekend.

Given our slightly reduced numbers due to injuries, Tuchel didn’t have as much choice as usual for his lineup, so no real surprises today. Ziyech does get the nod over Werner.

Here we go!


Juventus starting lineup (4-4-2):
Szczesny | Alex Sandro, De Ligt, Bonucci (c), Danilo | Rabiot, Locatelli, Bentancur, Cuadrado | Bernardeschi, Chiesa

Substitutes from: Pinsoglio, Perin, De Sciglio, Chiellini, McKennie, Kean, Rugani, Kulusevski

Chelsea starting lineup (3-4-3):
Mendy | Rudiger, Silva, Christensen | Alonso, Jorginho, Kovacic, Azpilicueta (c) | Havertz, Lukaku, Ziyech

Substitutes from: Arrizabalaga, Bettinelli, Chalobah, Sarr, Chilwell, Saul, Barkley, Loftus-Cheek, Hudson-Odoi, Werner


Date / Time: Wednesday, September 29, 2021, 20.00 BST; 3pm EDT; 12:30am IST (next day)
Venue: Allianz Stadium, Torino, Italy
Referee: Jesús Gil Manzano (on pitch); Juan Martínez Munuera (VAR)

On TV: BT Sport 2 (UK); none (USA); Sony TEN 1 (India); SuperSport MaXimo 1, Canal+ Sport 4 (NGA); elsewhere
Streaming: BT Sport Live (UK); Paramount+, TUDNxtra (USA); Sony LIV (India); DStv Now (NGA)


LIVE BLOG


Be excellent to each other, and party on, dudes!