clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Chelsea vs. Manchester City, Premier League: Live blog; highlights

...as it happened: live blog, updates, highlights, lineups, comments, etc.

Chelsea v Manchester City - Premier League Photo by Catherine Ivill/Getty Images

Welcome to the weekend! In the next two hours, we’ll find out whether it’s a good weekend or a bad weekend.

We’ve won three (3!) in a row against Manchester City, including of course the Champions League final four months ago. Can we make it four in a row? No one’s ever done that to Pep Guardiola!

No big surprises from Tuchel or Guardiola in the lineups, as we roll with the 3-5-2 from the start. Our best versus their best.

Here we go!


Chelsea starting lineup (3-5-2):
Mendy | Rüdiger, Christensen, Azpilicueta (c) | Alonso, Kovačić, Jorginho, Kanté, James | Werner, Lukaku

Substitutes from: Arrizabalaga, Chilwell, Chalobah, Silva, Loftus-Cheek, Saúl, Havertz, Hudson-Odoi

Manchester City starting lineup (4-3-3):
Ederson | Cancelo, Laporte, Dias (c), Walker | Bernardo, Rodri, De Bruyne | Grealish, Jesus, Foden

Substitutes from: Steffen, Stones, Ake, Sterling, Torres, Fernandinho, Mahrez, Palmer, Lavia


Date / Time: Saturday, September 25, 2021, 12.30 BST; 7:30am EDT; 5pm IST
Venue: Stamford Bridge, SW6
Referee: Michael Oliver (on pitch); Darren England (VAR)

On TV: BT Sport 1 (UK); NBCSN, Universo (USA); Star Sports HD2 (India); SuperSport MaXimo 1 (NGA); elsewhere
Streaming: BT Sport Live (UK); NBC Sports Live, Universo Now (USA); Hotstar (India); DStv Now (NGA)


LIVE BLOG


Be excellent to each other, and party on, dudes!