clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Tottenham Hotspur vs. Chelsea, Premier League: Live blog; highlights

...as it happened: live blog, updates, highlights, lineups, comments, etc.

Tottenham Hotspur v Chelsea - Premier League Photo by James Williamson - AMA/Getty Images

Massive early season showdown, and not just because of the rivalry, with both Spurs and Chelsea right near the top of the table coming into the weekend. Three points are needed to keep pace with the likes of Liverpool and Manchester United, especially with Manchester City coming up next weekend.

Accordingly, Thomas Tuchel has selected the strongest available lineup — sans Édouard Mendy, who must have picked up an injury (UPDATE: it’s his ribs from the collision against Zenit on Tuesday), and Kanté, who apparently isn’t quite fit enough to start.

RIP Jimmy Greaves.

Here we go!


Tottenham Hotspur starting lineup (4-3-3):
Lloris | Reguilon, Romero, Dier, Royal | Ndombele, Lo Celso, Hojbjerg | Dele, Kane, Son

Substitutes from: Gollini, Doherty, Rodon, Sanchez, Davies, Winks, Skipp, Bryan, Scarlett

Chelsea starting lineup (3-4-3):
Arrizabalaga | Rüdiger, Silva, Christensen | Alonso, Jorginho, Kovačić, Azpilicueta (c) | Mount, Lukaku, Havertz

Substitutes from: Bettinelli, Chilwell, James, Chalobah, Kanté, Saúl, Hudson-Odoi, Ziyech, Werner


Date / Time: Sunday, September 19, 2021, 16.30 BST; 11:30am EDT; 9pm IST
Venue: Tottenham Hotspur Stadium, London, N17
Referee: Paul Tierney (on pitch); Chris Kavanagh (VAR)

On TV: Sky Sports Main Event (UK); none (USA); Star Sports Select HD2 (India); SuperSport MaXimo 1, Canal+ Sport 4 (NGA); elsewhere
Streaming: Sky Go (UK); Peacock (USA); Hotstar (India); DStv Now (NGA)


LIVE BLOG:


Be excellent to each other, and party on, dudes!