clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Chelsea vs. Zenit St Petersburg, Champions League: Live blog; highlights

...as it happened: live blog, updates, highlights, lineups, comments, etc.

Chelsea FC v Zenit St. Petersburg: Group H - UEFA Champions League Photo by Clive Rose/Getty Images

Our 2021-22 Champions League campaign gets underway with a visit from Russian Premier League champions Zenit St Petersburg, for the first ever meeting between these two clubs.

Champions of Europe versus the Champions of Russia. At stake, three points in Group H, with Malmö playing Juventus in the other game.

Tuchel went for a rotated lineup over the weekend, and makes five changes once again, with Christensen, Azpilicueta, Jorginho, James, and Mount all coming back into the side. Still no start for Chilwell though.

Here we go!


Chelsea starting lineup (3-4-3):
Mendy | Rüdiger, Christensen, Azpilicueta (c) | Alonso, Jorginho, Kovacic, James | Mount, Lukaku, Ziyech

Substitutes from: Arrizabalaga, Bergström, Thiago Silva, Chalobah, Sarr, Chilwell, Saúl, Barkley, Loftus-Cheek, Hudson-Odoi, Werner, Havertz

Zenit St Petersburg starting lineup (5-4-1):
Kritsyuk | Douglas Santos (c), Rakitskiy, Chistiakov, Barrios, Sutormin | Claudinho, Wendel, Kuzyaev, Malcom | Azmoun

Substitutes from: M.Kerzhakov, Odoevski, Krugovoi, Mostovoy, Erokhin, Dzyuba, Kravtsov, Khotulev


Date / Time: Tuesday, September 14, 2021, 20.00 BST; 3pm EDT; 12:30am IST (next day)
Venue: Stamford Bridge, SW6
Referee: Bartosz Frankowski (on pitch); Marco Fritz (VAR)

On TV: BT Sport 2 (UK); Galavision (USA); Sony TEN 1 (India); Canal+ Sport 5, SuperSport PSL (NGA); elsewhere
Streaming: BT Sport Live (UK); Paramount+; Unision Now (USA); Sony LIV (India); DStv Now (NGA)


LIVE BLOG


Be excellent to each other, and party on, dudes!