clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Chelsea vs. Aston Villa, Premier League: Live blog; highlights

...as it happened: live blog, updates, highlights, lineups, comments, etc.

Chelsea v Aston Villa - Premier League Photo by Catherine Ivill/Getty Images

Chelsea are back after a two-week break, and will need to find our rhythm and verve quickly as a congested and challenging schedule looms. First up are Villa, who may be mid-table, but should not be taken lightly.

Chelsea also have a chance to move up in the table thanks to Spurs’ 3-0 humbling by Conor Gallagher’s Crystal Palace at Selhurst Park.

Tuchel has shuffled his cards thanks to the exertions of many during the break, which means that Saúl gets his debut, CHO starts at wing-back, and Marcos Alonso is the captain. Thiago Silva is eligible and starts as well, while there’s a Ross Barkley on the bench, too!

Here we go!


Chelsea starting lineup (3-4-3):
Mendy | Rüdiger, Silva, Chalobah | Alonso (c), Saúl, Kovačić, Hudson-Odoi | Havertz, Lukaku, Ziyech

Substitutes from: Arrizabalaga, Azpilicueta, Chilwell, Christensen, Barkley, Jorginho, Loftus-Cheek, Mount, Werner

Aston Villa starting lineup (4-3-3):
Steer | Konsa, Mings (c), Tuanzebe, Cash | McGinn, Douglas Luiz, J.Ramsey | Targett, Watkins, Ings

Substitutes from: Sinisalo, Hause, A.Young, Nakamba, Sanson, El Ghazi, Bailey, Traoré, Archer


Date / Time: Saturday, September 11, 2021, 17.30 BST; 12:30pm EDT; 10pm IST
Venue: Stamford Bridge, SW6
Referee: Stuart Attwell (on pitch); Chris Kavanagh (VAR)

On TV: Sky Sports Main Event (UK); NBC, Universo (USA); Star Sports Select HD1 (India); SuperSport MaXimo (NGA); elsewhere
Streaming: Sky Go (UK); NBC Sports Live, Telemundo Deportes En Vivo (USA); Hotstar (India); DStv Now (NGA)


LIVE BLOG


Be excellent to each other, and party on, dudes!