clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Chelsea vs. Tottenham Hotspur, Friendly: Live blog; highlights

...as it happened: live blog, updates, highlights, lineups, comments, etc.

FBL-ENG-CHELSEA-TOTTENHAM-FRIENDLY Photo by GLYN KIRK/AFP via Getty Images

Our last official preseason friendly is the first at the Bridge this summer, and the first since winning the Champions League final on May 29. Since there was no actual victory parade due to the pandemic, the trophy will be shown around the stadium prior to kick-off today.

That should be reason alone to look forward to this game, friendly as it may be (at least in name) against Spurs. Nice to see both Tino Anjorin and Ethan Ampadu on the bench, and of course T’Chalobah getting another start!

Here we go!


Chelsea starting lineup (3-4-3):
Mendy | Rüdiger, Chalobah, Zouma | Alonso, Kanté, Kovačić, Hudson-Odoi | Werner, Havertz, Ziyech

Substitutes from: Arrizabalaga, Bettinelli, Sarr, Ampadu, Zappacosta, Miazga, Loftus-Cheek, Bakayoko, Anjorin, Kenedy, Pulisic, Batshuayi, Abraham

Spurs starting XI:
Gollini | Doherty, Tanganga, Dier, Reguilon, Skipp, Hojbjerg, Dele, Bergwijn, Lucas, Son

Substitutes from: Whiteman, Aurier, Rodon, Omole, Davies, Carter-Vickers, Sissoko, Winks, John, Clarke, Scarlett


Date / Time: Wednesday, August 4, 2021, 19.45 BST; 2:45pm EDT; 12:15am IST (next day)
Venue: Stamford Bridge

On TV: none
Streaming: Chelsea website & The 5th Stand App — the match also costs £7.99/$10.99 to watch, half of which will be donated to the charities. It’s always helpful to start the stream early, to avoid lag, server issues, and frustrations. Coverage begins 25 minutes prior to kick-off, with the trophy lap hopefully shown as well.


LIVE BLOG

Rail seating in the house!


Be excellent to each other, and party on, dudes!