clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Arsenal vs. Chelsea, Premier League: Confirmed lineups; how to watch

...as it happened: live blog, updates, highlights, lineups, comments, etc.

Arsenal v Chelsea - Premier League Photo by Stuart MacFarlane/Arsenal FC via Getty Images

The penultimate match of this second round of fixtures on the young Premier League season sees Chelsea travel cross-town to take on the Gunners. On paper, in-form and confident Chelsea should be clear favorites against a struggling team in crisis. But that won’t mean much once the whistle’s blown.

Tuchel has selected a strong team for this task, as one would expect. Lukaku starts but Kanté’s only fit enough for the bench. Ben White misses out for Arsenal through illness.

Here we go!


Arsenal starting lineup (4-2-3-1):
Leno | Tierney, Mari, Holding, Cedric | Sambi, Xhaka (c) | Saka, Smith Rowe, Pepe | Martinelli

Substitutes from: Ramsdale, Chambers, Kolasinac, Tavares, Maitland-Niles, Elneny, Nelson, Balogun, Aubameyang

Chelsea starting lineup (3-4-3):
Mendy | Rüdiger, Christensen, Azpilicueta (c) | Alonso, Kovačić, Jorginho, James | Havertz, Lukaku, Mount

Substitutes from: Arrizabalaga, Chilwell, Chalobah, Thiago Silva, Zouma, Kanté, Hudson-Odoi, Ziyech, Werner


Date / Time: Sunday, August 22, 2021, 16.30 BST; 11:30am EDT; 9pm IST
Venue: Emirates Stadium, London, N5
Referee: Paul Tierney (on pitch); Chris Kavanagh (VAR)

On TV: Sky Sports Main Event (UK); NBCSN, Telemundo (USA); Star Sports Select HD1 (India); SuperSport MaXimo 1, Canal+ Sport 3 (NGA); elsewhere
Streaming: Sky Go (UK); NBC Sports Live, Telemundo Deportes En Vivo (USA); Hotstar (India); DStv Now (NGA)


LIVE BLOG


Be excellent to each other, and party on, dudes!