clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Kanté, Jorginho, Tuchel, Hayes nominated for UEFA 2020-21 season awards

Champions of Europe

Real Madrid v Chelsea - UEFA Champions League Photo by David S. Bustamante/Soccrates/Getty Images

The nominations for the various UEFA end of season awards are out, and as one would expect for the Champions of Europe, there are several names from Chelsea among them.

For the Men’s Player of the Year award, both N’Golo Kanté and (triple-European-champion) Jorginho made the final three-man shortlist, alongside former Chelsea player and vanquished final opponent, Kevin De Bruyne.

Chelsea head coach Thomas Tuchel has been nominated for the Men’s Coach of the Year award, alongside knitwear-enthusiast Pep Guardiola and the Euro 2020/1-winning head coach of the Italian national team, Roberto Mancini.

On the women’s side, Chelsea head coach Emma Hayes has been nominated for the Women’s Coach of the Year, alongside two dudes in charge of Barcelona (Lluís Cortés) and the Swedish national team (Peter Gerhardsson).

Shockingly, despite reaching the final, the Chelsea women’s team have gotten zero nominees for the Women’s Player of the Year, with the three-players shortlist made up entirely of Barcelona: Jennifer Hermoso, Lieke Martens, and Alexia Putellas. Sam Kerr, Fran Kirby, and Pernille Harder finished 7th, 8th, and 9th, respectively, in the preliminary voting by coaches and journalists.

Last week, the nominees for the positional awards were announced too, with Edouard Mendy, César Azpilicueta, Antonio Rüdiger, Jorginho, N’Golo Kanté getting shortlisted on the men’s side, and Ann-Katrin Berger, Magdalena Eriksson, and Ji So-yun getting nominations of the women’s side.

All award winners will be announced on August 26.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the We Ain't Got No History Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Chelsea news from We Ain't Got No History