clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Chelsea vs. Villarreal, UEFA Super Cup: Live blog; highlights

...as it happened: live blog, updates, highlights, lineups, comments, etc.

Chelsea FC v Villarreal CF – UEFA Super Cup 2021 Photo by Catherine Ivill/Getty Images

Romelu Lukaku has now actually arrived in London, and just in time to watch this game along with the rest of the non-traveling crew back at Cobham.

Meanwhile, over in Belfast, the traveling crew are about to begin our quest for many trophies this season with a long-overdue win in a UEFA Super Cup “final”. We’ve lost in 2012, 2013, and 2019. Time to party like it’s 1998, and win!

Accordingly, Thomas Tuchel has selected a strong lineup (from a strong squad, to be fair) with N’Golo Kanté as captain! Big trust in Trevoh Chalobah as well.

Here we go!


Chelsea starting lineup (3-4-3):
Mendy | Rüdiger, Zouma, Chalobah | Alonso, Kovacic, Kanté (c), Hudson-Odoi | Havertz, Werner, Ziyech

Substitutes from: Arrizabalaga, Christensen, Silva, Azpilicueta, Chilwell, James, Emerson, Jorginho, Loftus-Cheek, Mount, Pulisic, Abraham

Villarreal starting lineup (4-3-3):
Asenjo | Pedraza, Pau Torres, Albiol (c), Foyth | Moreno, Capoue, Trigueros | Dia, Gerard Moreno, Pino

Substitutes from: Rulli, Mario Gaspar, Morlanes, Alcácer, Iborra, Estupinan, Cuenca Barreno, Raba, Pena, Mandi, Moi Gomez, Nino


Date / Time: Wednesday, August 11, 2021, 20.00 BST; 3pm EDT; 12:30am IST (next day)
Venue: Windsor Park, Belfast, Northern Ireland
Referee: Sergei Karasev (on pitch); Marco Fritz (VAR)

On TV: BT Sport 1 (UK); CBS Sports Network, Univision, TUDN (USA); Sony TEN 2 (India); SuperSport Premier League, Canal+ Sport 3 (NGA); elsewhere
Streaming: BT Sport Live (UK); Paramount+, Univision Now (USA); Sony LIV (India); DStv Now (NGA)


LIVE BLOG

BTW, here’s Lukaku at Biggin Hill Airport a couple hours prior to kick-off, presumably on his way to Chelsea now for real.


Be excellent to each other, and party on, dudes!