clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Euro 2020/1, Round of 16: England vs. Germany, Sweden vs. Ukraine

New, comments

All eyes on Wembley

European Football Championship - Feature London Photo by Christian Charisius/picture alliance via Getty Images

Three of the four quarterfinal matchups of Euro 2020 are set. The fourth will be determined today, and given the way the bracket has shaped up, the winners of England and Germany have a clear run to the final.

(Not ruling out any further upsets of course, especially after such a largely dramatic Round of 16 thus far.)

Euro 2020 bracket
@ArchiveInt

The highly anticipated England vs. Germany match will be their first competitive meeting since the 4-1 German win at the 2010 World Cup that saw a perfectly good Frank Lampard goal incorrectly ruled out and turn the tide in Germany’s favor (and lead directly to the establishment of goal-line technology, and indirectly to VAR).

Mason Mount and Ben Chilwell are both back from their period of COVID-19 self-isolation after close contact with Scotland’s Billy Gilmour, but Antonio Rüdiger is under the weather and is a minor doubt for Germany. Reece James, Kai Havertz, and Timo Werner will also be looking for minutes.

ENGLAND vs. GERMANY

Date / Time: Tuesday, June 28, 2021, 17.00 BST; 12pm EDT
Venue: Wembley Stadium, London, England
Referee: Cüneyt Çakir (TUR)
On TV: BBC One (UK); ESPN, Univision, TUDN (USA); elsewhere
Streaming online: BBC iPlayer (UK); ESPN+, Univision Now (USA)


The second match of the day and the last Round of 16 match will have fewer eyes on it, but Sweden’s Alexander Isak is fun to watch if you’re looking for a reason to tune in.

SWEDEN vs. UKRAINE

Date / Time: Tuesday, June 28, 2021, 20.00 BST; 3pm EDT
Venue: Hampden Park, Glasgow, Scotland
Referee: Daniele Orsato (ITA)
On TV: BBC One 1 (UK); ESPN (USA); elsewhere
Streaming online: BBC iPlayer (UK); ESPN+, PrendeTV (USA)