clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Euro 2020/1, Round of 16 stage: Wales vs. Denmark, Italy vs. Austria

New, comments

Guess who’s back!

Italy Training Session - UEFA Euro 2020: Round of 16 Photo by Claudio Villa/Getty Images

After a three-day break from all the action we saw in Europe, we are back in it with Euro’s first stage of the knockout phase. The first day of round of 16 competition will see Wales facing Denmark in the Netherlands, and Italy versus Austria at Wembley in London, England.

Wales come into this match with the best ever loss in their history, falling 1-0 to Italy and still managing to clinch a spot in Euro 2020/1 round of 16. Whereas Denmark are in high spirits following an inspiring 4-1 win over Russia to overcome the Eastern European outfit and finish second-place in their group.

Italy became one of the tournament’s title favourites following an unbeaten group stage campaign with seven goals scores and no goals against them as of yet. They will be facing the best second-place team at the Euro’s group stage, Austria, who got their round of 16 berth by beating Ukraine 1-0 in the last round of the group C.


WALES vs. DENMARK

Date / Time: Saturday, June 26, 2021, 17.00 BST; 12pm EDT
Venue: Johan Cruijff Arena, Amsterdam, Netherlands
Referee: Daniel Siebert (GER)
On TV: BBC One (UK); ESPN (US); elsewhere
Streaming online: BBC iPlayer (UK); PrendeTV (US)


ITALY vs. AUSTRIA

Date / Time: Saturday, June 26, 2021, 20.00 BST; 3pm EDT
Venue: Wembley Stadium, London, England
Referee: Anthony Taylor (ENG)
On TV: BBC One (UK); ESPN3, ABC (US); elsewhere
Streaming online: BBC iPlayer (UK); PrendeTV (US)