clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Euro 2020/1, Day 9: Hungary vs. France, Portugal vs. Germany, Spain vs. Poland

New, comments

Group of Death back in action

Training Session France - European Championship 2020 Photo by Baptiste Fernandez/Icon Sport via Getty Images

And so we circle around to Group F once again, the Group of Death, where mighty France take on poor ol’e Hungary while Portugal and Germany look to find out whether they’re actually good, bad, lucky, unlucky, or just completely lost.

Hungary gave Portugal a stern challenge in the first game before collapsing in rather stereotypical fashion late on, but to expect them to be able to resist France to even that degree might be too much for even the most optimistic. Then again, an expected full house of 60k+ might be an effective 12th man.

Neither Germany nor Portugal impressed in their first game, but the former were facing a good team while the latter were not. So this game might prove a bit more meaningful litmus test, especially to a Portugal squad brimming with top talent ... on paper. Meanwhile, Germany just might need to sort themselves out a bit first, especially in attack, before even considering what to do about Portugal.

And then there’s Spain in the nightcap, which should put you in the mood for a good night’s sleep, if their first game was any indication.


HUNGARY vs. FRANCE

Date / Time: Saturday, June 18, 2021, 14.00 BST; 9am EDT
Venue: Puskás Aréna, Budapest, Hungary
Referee: Michael Oliver (ENG)
On TV: BBC One (UK); ESPN (USA); elsewhere
Streaming online: BBC iPlayer (UK); ESPN+, PrendeTV (USA)


PORTUGAL vs. GERMANY

Date / Time: Saturday, June 18, 2021, 17.00 BST; 12pm EDT
Venue: Allianz Arena, Munich, Germany
Referee: Anthony Taylor (ENG)
On TV: ITV 1 (UK); ESPN, Univision, TUDN (USA); elsewhere
Streaming online: BBC iPlayer (UK); ESPN+, PrendeTV (USA)


SPAIN vs. POLAND

Date / Time: Saturday, June 18, 2021, 20.00 BST; 3pm EDT
Venue: Estádio Olimpico, Seville, Spain
Referee: Daniele Orsato (ITA)
On TV: BBC One (UK); ABC (USA); elsewhere
Streaming online: BBC iPlayer (UK); ESPN+, PrendeTV (USA)