clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Euro 2020/1, Day 8: Sweden vs. Slovakia, Croatia vs. Czech Republic, England vs. Scotland

New, comments

Working for the second weekend

England Training Session - St George’s Park - Thursday June 17th Photo by Nick Potts/PA Images via Getty Images

Plenty of potentially interesting things on tap on this second Friday of Euro 2020, with both halves of the former Czechslovakia looking for a second win from two games, and joined in that quest by the Three Lions, who take on Scotland for the 115th time, but only the second ever at a major tournament. The other meeting was (almost exactly) 25 years ago, at Euro ‘96, a 2-0 win for England, featuring that iconic Paul Gascoigne goal and celebration.

Will today’s game bring us such a memorable moment? Perhaps. Reece James is rumored to be in line for a start. Hopefully Billy Gilmour gets a chance for the other side as well.

Slovakia’s 2-1 win over Poland and the Czechs’ 2-0 win over Scotland (featuring a modern classic in Patrik Schick’s goal from the halfway line) has them both with one foot in the knockout rounds already, and they will be hoping to keep riding that momentum going today.

Their opponents meanwhile will be looking to find said momentum in the first place, with Spain coming off of a dour 0-0 draw against Sweden and a rather poor Croatia providing little resistance in England’s ultimately narrow 1-0 win.

SWEDEN vs. SLOVAKIA

Date / Time: Friday, June 17, 2021, 14.00 BST; 9am EDT
Venue: Krestovsky Arena, Saint Petersburg, Russia
Referee: Daniel Siebert (GER)
On TV: BBC One (UK); ESPN (USA); elsewhere
Streaming online: BBC iPlayer (UK); ESPN+, PrendeTV (USA)


CROATIA vs. CZECH REPUBLIC

Date / Time: Friday, June 17, 2021, 17.00 BST; 12pm EDT
Venue: Hampden Park, Glasgow, Sotland
Referee: Carlos del Cerro Grande (SPA)
On TV: BBC One (UK); ESPN (USA); elsewhere
Streaming online: BBC iPlayer (UK); ESPN+, PrendeTV (USA)


ENGLAND vs. SCOTLAND

Date / Time: Friday, June 17, 2021, 20.00 BST; 3pm EDT
Venue: Wembley Stadium, London, England
Referee: Antonio Mateu Lahoz (SPA)
On TV: ITV 1 (UK); ESPN (USA); elsewhere
Streaming online: ITV Hub (UK); ESPN+, PrendeTV (USA)