clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Euro 2020/1, Day 7: Ukraine vs. North Macedonia, Denmark vs. Belgium, Netherlands vs. Austria

New, comments

Minutes for Michy?

FBL-EUR-2020-2021-BEL-TRAINING Photo by JONATHAN NACKSTRAND/AFP via Getty Images

Denmark return to action today, in the day’s marquee matchup against Belgium, and we can only hope that their mental state will be healthy enough to actually play this time, unlike over the weekend, when UEFA’s de facto ultimatum saw them finish out their game against Finland just 90 minutes after Christian Eriksen’s heart attack and brief ... well, death.

Eriksen is recovering in hospital, feeling “okay” and in good spirits, though what caused his medical emergency remains a bit of a mystery. From reports so far, all tests have come back negative, and no underlying conditions have been discovered. Strange; scary. Get well soon, Christian!

Denmark, featuring Chelsea’s Andreas Christensen, lost to Finland, 1-0 and their task certainly doesn’t get any easier against Belgium, who steamrolled Russia, 3-0, in their first game (Romelu Lukaku scoring twice) and remain one of the favorites to win it all. Eden Hazard had a promising cameo towards the end of that match and could be in line for a start as he keeps working his way back towards full fitness once again.

We also have Ukraine taking on North Macedonia, both coming off of losses, to the Netherlands and Austria, respectively. The latter two face each other in the day’s late game, without Marko Arnautović, who’s been banned one game for his “celebration”.

UKRAINE vs. NORTH MACEDONIA

Date / Time: Thursday, June 17, 2021, 14.00 BST; 9am EDT
Venue: National Arena, Bucharest, Romania
Referee: Fernando Andres Rapallini (ARG)
On TV: ITV 1 (UK); ESPN (USA); elsewhere
Streaming online: ITV Hub (UK); ESPN+, PrendeTV (USA)


DENMARK vs. BELGIUM

Date / Time: Thursday, June 17, 2021, 17.00 BST; 12pm EDT
Venue: Parken Arena, Copenhagen, Denmark
Referee: Björn Kuipers (NED)
On TV: ITV 1 (UK); ESPN (USA); elsewhere
Streaming online: ITV Hub (UK); ESPN+, PrendeTV (USA)


NETHERLANDS vs. AUSTRIA

Date / Time: Thursday, June 17, 2021, 20.00 BST; 3pm EDT
Venue: Johan Cruijff Arena, Amsterdam, Netherlands
Referee: Orel Grinfeeld (ISL)
On TV: BBC One (UK); ESPN (USA); elsewhere
Streaming online: BBC iPlayer (UK); ESPN+, PrendeTV (USA)