clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Manchester City vs. Chelsea, Premier League: Live blog; highlights

New, comments

...as it happened: live blog, updates, highlights, lineups, comments, etc.

Manchester City v Chelsea - Premier League - Etihad Stadium Photo by Martin Rickett/PA Images via Getty Images

Time to put on your Sunday Saturday best for this so-called “dress rehearsal” for the Champions League final that actually means much more than that. A Chelsea win means we go third thanks to Leicester City’s loss yesterday, while a City win means they’re confirmed as champions officially as well. (And the fans outside the grounds are celebrating already.)

With both teams dealing with congested schedules and coming off of massive midweek wins in the Champions League, Tuchel and Guardiola have both opted to rotate their squads. Billy Gilmour gets a big opportunity with the start, while Academy kid Tino Livramento makes the bench! City look to be playing a back-three as well.

Here we go!


Manchester City starting lineup (3-4-3):
Ederson | Aké, Laporte, Dias | Mendy, Rodrigo, Torres, Cancelo | Jesus, Aguero, Sterling

Substitutes from: Steffen, Walker, Gundogan, Zinchenko, Bernardo, Fernandinho, Mahrez, Foden, Garcia

Chelsea starting lineup (3-4-3):
Mendy | Rüdiger, Christensen, Azpilicueta (c) | Alonso, Gilmour, Kanté, James | Pulisic, Werner, Ziyech

Substitutes from: Arrizabalaga, Emerson, Livramento, Zouma, Jorginho, Havertz, Hudson-Odoi, Abraham, Giroud


Date / Time: Saturday, May 8, 2021, 17.30 BST; 12:30pm EDT; 10pm IST
Venue: Etihad Stadium, Manchester, England
Referee: Anthony Taylor (on pitch); Jonathan Moss (VAR)

On TV: Sky Sports Main Event (UK); NBC, Universo (USA); Star Sports Select HD1 (India); SuperSport Premier League, Canal+ Sport 3 (NGA); elsewhere
Streaming: Sky Go (UK); NBC Sports Live, Telemundo Deportes En Vivo (USA); Hotstar (India); DStv Now (NGA)


LIVE BLOG


Be excellent to each other, and party on, dudes!