clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Aston Villa vs. Chelsea, Premier League: Live blog; highlights

...as it happened: live blog, updates, highlights, lineups, comments, etc.

Aston Villa v Everton FC - Premier League Photo by Tony McArdle - Everton FC/Everton FC via Getty Images

One win, one loss in our two “finals” thus far this season. Can we add another mark to the “win” column today?

Surely feels like it. Aston Villa come out strongly, but so do we. The only change is Mateo Kovacic in place of N’Golo Kanté, hopefully just to let his body heal and rest before the biggest game of the year in less than a week.

Let’s do this.


Aston Villa starting lineup (4-2-3-1):
Martínez | Konsa, Hause, Mings, Targett | McGinn, Nakamba | Traoré, Grealish (c), El Ghazi | Watkings

Subs from: Heaton, Elmohamady, Taylor, Douglas Luiz, J. Ramsey, Chukwuemeka, Philogene-Bidace, Davis, Wesley

Chelsea starting lineup (3-4-3):
Mendy | Azpilicueta (c), Thiago Silva, Rüdiger | James, Kovacic, Jorginho, Chilwell | Mount, Werner, Pulisic

Subs from: Kepa, Alonso, Christensen, Zouma, Gilmour, Havertz, Hudson-Odoi, Ziyech, Giroud


Date / Time: Sunday, May 23, 2021, 16.00 BST; 11am EDT; 8:30pm IST
Venue: Villa Park, Birmingham, England
Referee: Stuart Attwell (on pitch); Jared Gillett (VAR); common sense (MIA)

On TV: Sky Sports Action (UK); USA (USA); none? (India); SuperSport LaLiga (NGA); elsewhere
Streaming: Sky Go (UK); Peacock (USA); ??? (India); DStv Now (NGA)


LIVE BLOG


Be excellent to each other, and party on, dudes!

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the We Ain't Got No History Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Chelsea news from We Ain't Got No History