clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Chelsea’s Fran Kirby, Niamh Charles earn honours at London Football Awards 2021

Best in the city

Chelsea fans know we are the best in London. But sometimes it is good to get some affirmation from the rest of the world, just to make sure they are up to date with this fact.

The London Football Awards 2021 last night partially served to show that. While our men’s team representatives did not secure any of the prizes that they were in contention, our women’s team were the big winners with Fran Kirby earning the WSL Player of the Year award, and Niamh Charles winning Women’s Young Player of Year.

Kirby beat fellow Chelsea star Pernille Harder, as well as a trio of Arsenal players in Vivianne Miedema, Jennifer Beattie and Leah Williamson to secure the honours. Whereas Charles had Arsenal’s Malin Gut and Tottenham’s Angela Addison as fellow contenders, coming out on top at the end of the day.

We could have had it three-for-three for the women’s team if manager Emma Hayes was chosen as Manager of the Year. However the glory fell to West Ham’s David Moyes instead, thanks to what has been an impressive Premier League campaign by the Hammers this season.

The full list of winners and nominees is as follows:

Women’s Super League Player of the Year (2020/21 Season)

WINNER: Fran Kirby (Chelsea)

Vivianne Miedema (Arsenal)

Jennifer Beattie (Arsenal)

Pernille Harder (Chelsea)

Leah Williamson (Arsenal)

Women’s Young Player of Year (2020/21 Season)

WINNER: Niamh Charles (Chelsea)

Angela Addison (Tottenham)

Malin Gut (Arsenal)

Manager of the Year (2020/21 Season)

WINNER: David Moyes (West Ham)

Emma Hayes (Chelsea)

Scott Parker (Fulham)

Thomas Frank (Brentford)

Roy Hodgson (Crystal Palace)

Premier League Player of the Year (2020/21 Season)

WINNER: Harry Kane (Tottenham)

Heung-min Son (Tottenham)

Declan Rice (West Ham)

Tomáš Souĉek (West Ham)

Mason Mount (Chelsea)

EFL Player of the Year (2020/21 Season)

WINNER: Ivan Toney (Brentford)

Bryan Mbeumo (Brentford)

Joe Pigott (AFC Wimbledon)

Jobi McAnuff (Leyton Orient)

Joao Pedro (Watford)

Goalkeeper of the Year (2020/21 Season)

WINNER: Lukasz Fabianski (West Ham)

Édouard Mendy (Chelsea)

Alphonse Areola (Fulham)

Bartosz Białkowski (Millwall)

Vicente Guaita (Crystal Palace)

Young Player of the Year (2020/21 Season)

WINNER: Bukayo Saka (Arsenal)

Mason Mount (Chelsea)

Declan Rice (West Ham)

Emile Smith-Rowe (Arsenal)

Reece James (Chelsea)

Goal of the Season (2020/21 Season)

WINNER: Erik Lamela | Arsenal v Tottenham (14th March 2021)

Manuel Lanzini | Tottenham v West Ham (18th October 2020)

Eberechi Eze | Crystal Palace v Sheffield United (2nd January 2021)

Olivier Giroud | Atletico Madrid v Chelsea (23rd February 2021)

Sébastian Haller | West Ham v Crystal Palace (16th December 2020)

Community Project of the Year (2020)

WINNER: Dons Local Action Group (AFC Wimbledon Foundation)

Arsenal Together (Arsenal In The Community)

Refuge Appeal (Chelsea Foundation)

Outstanding Contribution to London Football Award

WINNER: Roy Hodgson (Crystal Palace)

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the We Ain't Got No History Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Chelsea news from We Ain't Got No History