clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Chelsea vs. Manchester City, FA Cup: Live blog; highlights

New, comments

...as it happened: live blog, updates, highlights, lineups, comments, etc.

Manchester City v Chelsea: Emirates FA Cup Semi Final Photo by Chris Lee - Chelsea FC/Chelsea FC via Getty Images

Chelsea are 90 minutes (or 120, should there be a need for extra time) from returning to the FA Cup final and try to do one better than last season, but in our stand the best team in England in what is the toughest test yet for Tuchel’s Blues.

Unsurprisingly, Tuchel has opted for a largely unchanged side, rotating only in attack with Werner and Ziyech coming in and giving Kepa the nod in goal as has been the case in all our cup games. No Abraham on the bench once again, but there is a Gilmour!

Nathan Ake’s on the bench for City.

Here we go!


Chelsea starting lineup (3-4-3):
Arrizabalaga | Rüdiger, Thiago Silva, Azpilicueta (c) | Chilwell, Kanté, Jorginho, James | Mount, Werner, Ziyech

Substitutes from: Caballero, Alonso, Emerson, Zouma, Gilmour, Havertz, Hudson-Odoi, Pulisic, Giroud

Manchester City starting lineup (4-3-3):
Steffen | Mendy, Laporte, Dias, Cancelo | De Bruyne, Fernandinho (c), Rodri | Sterling, Jesus, Torres

Substitutes from: Ederson, Walker, Stones, Ake, Gundogan, Zinchenko, Bernardo, Mahrez, Foden


Date / Time: Saturday, April 17, 2021, 17.30 BST; 12:30pm EDT; 10pm IST
Venue: Wembley Stadium, London, England
Referee: Mike Dean (on pitch); Peter Bankes (VAR)

On TV: BBC One (UK); none (USA); Sony TEN 2 (India); SuperSport Premier League (NGA); elsewhere
Streaming: BBC iPlayer (UK); ESPN+ (USA); Sony LIV (India); DStv Now (NGA) — We (WAGNH) have an affiliate link for ESPN+ if you’re in the US and would like to sign up for the best value in sports streaming (or, if you’re like me, sign up for the Disney-Hulu-ESPN+ bundle).


LIVE BLOG


Be excellent to each other, and party on, dudes!