clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Three Chelsea players named in England U21 squad for U21 Euros group stage matches

...and two former Chelsea Academy players as well

Chelsea v Everton - Premier League Photo by Chris Lee - Chelsea FC/Chelsea FC via Getty Images

Callum Hudson-Odoi headlines the England U21 squad selection that was announced this morning, ahead of next week’s U21 European Championship group stage matches that will see the young lions take on Switzerland (March 25), Portugal (March 28), and Croatia (March 31).

He’s joined by Chelsea loanees Conor Gallagher and Marc Guehi, as well as former Chelsea trainees Rhian Brewster (now at Sheffield United) and Eddie Nketiah (now at Leeds, on loan from Arsenal). Reece James and Trevoh Chalobah unfortunately and surprisingly miss out, as do former Chelsea boys Jonathan Panzo, Tariq Lamptey (who’s been injured recently), and Jamal Musiala, who’s chosen to represent Germany.

The U21 Euros were originally scheduled to take place in the summer, but were brought forward by UEFA to make room for the postponed (senior) Euro 2020 tournament — and allow players like Hudson-Odoi to perhaps play in both. The “group stage” will take place during the upcoming international break, while the knockout rounds and the finals will be held the first week of June. All of England’s group games will take place in Slovenia (Ljubljana and Koper), who are co-hosting with Hungary.

The England U21 squad, in full, is as follows. They should be one of the favorites for the trophy, which they’ve never won.

GOALKEEPERS: Josef Bursik (Stoke City), Josh Griffiths (Cheltenham Town, loan from West Bromwich Albion), Aaron Ramsdale (Sheffield United)

DEFENDERS: Max Aarons (Norwich City), Ben Godfrey (Everton), Marc Guehi (Swansea City, loan from Chelsea), Lloyd Kelly (AFC Bournemouth), Ryan Sessegnon (Hoffenheim, loan from Tottenham Hotspur), Steven Sessegnon (Bristol City, loan from Fulham), Japhet Tanganga (Tottenham Hotspur), Ben Wilmot (Watford)

MIDFIELDERS: Tom Davies (Everton), Ebere Eze (Crystal Palace), Conor Gallagher (West Bromwich Albion, loan from Chelsea), Curtis Jones (Liverpool), Dwight McNeil (Burnley), Oliver Skipp (Norwich City, loan from Tottenham Hotspur)

FORWARDS: Rhian Brewster (Sheffield United), Mason Greenwood (Manchester United), Callum Hudson-Odoi (Chelsea), Noni Madueke (PSV Eindhoven), Eddie Nketiah (Arsenal), Emile Smith Rowe (Arsenal)

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the We Ain't Got No History Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Chelsea news from We Ain't Got No History