clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Chelsea vs. Everton, Premier League: Live blog, highlights

...as it happened: live blog, updates, highlights, lineups, comments, etc.

Chelsea v Everton - Premier League Photo by Tony McArdle/Everton FC via Getty Images

This match was in doubt as of this morning, but Chelsea have returned negative tests on the rest of the squad today after three (unnamed) players tested positive last night, so we’re set to go ahead.

Everton are undermanned as well due to injuries. Let us commence the battle of attrition!

It would appear that strikers (Lukaku, Havertz, Werner) have been the three struck down? Twitterers claim Havertz was seen at the hotel pre-match however, so maybe he’s just carrying a knock. Callum Hudson-Odoi is also missing from the squad.

UPDATE:

Here we go.


Chelsea starting lineup (3-4-3):
Mendy | Rüdiger, Silva, Azpilicueta (c) | Alonso, Jorginho, Loftus-Cheek, James | Mount, Pulisic, Ziyech

Substitutes from: Arrizabalaga, Bettinelli, Chalobah, Christensen, Sarr, Kanté, Saúl, Barkley

Everton starting XI:
Pickford | Kenny, Godfrey, Holgate, Keane (c), Branthwaite, Iwobi, André Gomes, Doucouré, Gordon, Simms

Substitutes from: Begovic, Lonergan, Coleman, Allan, Gbamin, Onyango, Dobbin


Date / Time: Thursday, December 16, 2021, 19.45 GMT; 2:45pm EST; 1:15am IST (next day)
Venue: Stamford Bridge, SW6
Referee: Michael Oliver (on pitch); Darren England (VAR)

On TV: BT Sport 2 (UK); NBCSN, Universo (USA); Star Sports Select HD2 (India); SuperSport Football (NGA); elsewhere
Streaming: BT Sport Live (UK); NBC Sports Live, Telemundo Deportes En Vivo (USA); Hotstar (India); DStv Now (NGA)


LIVE BLOG


Be excellent to each other, and party on, dudes!

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the We Ain't Got No History Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Chelsea news from We Ain't Got No History