clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Chelsea vs. Malmö FF, Champions League: Live blog; highlights

...as it happened: live blog, updates, highlights, lineups, comments, etc.

Chelsea FC v Malmo FF: Group H - UEFA Champions League Photo by Clive Rose/Getty Images

Welcome to the main event of the night, Havant & Waterlooville vs. Torquay United!

But if you can tear your attention away from that FA Cup 4th Round Qualifying replay, you might find yourself watching our beloved Blues take on Swedish champions Malmö FF in the Champions League. Malmö is of course where Nils Holgersson starts his journey, though we will be halfway through our group stage campaign by the end of this game.

Tuchel has gone for a very strong lineup, with perhaps less rotation (or re-rotation?) as expected. Which way is up? Which way is down? And which way shall lead us to victory?

Hopefully it’s this way.

Here we go!


Chelsea starting lineup (3-4-3):
Mendy | Rüdiger, Silva, Christensen | Chilwell, Kanté, Jorginho, Azpilicueta (c) | Werner, Lukaku, Mount

Substitutes from: Arrizabalaga, Bettinelli, Chalobah, Alonso, James, Saúl, Kovacic, Barkley, Loftus-Cheek, Hudson-Odoi, Ziyech, Havertz

Malmö FF starting lineup (3-5-2):
Dahlin | Brorsson, L.Nielsen, Larsson | Olsson, Christiansen (c), Innocent, Pena, Berget | Birmancevic, Colak

Substitutes from: Ellborg, Diawara, Moisander, Rakip, Abubakari, Gwargis, Nalic, Eile, Bjorkqvist, Lindman


Date / Time: Wednesday, October 20, 2021, 20.00 BST; 3pm EDT; 12:30am IST (next day)
Venue: Stamford Bridge, SW6
Referee: François Letexier (on pitch); Alejandro Hernández (VAR)

On TV: BT Sport 3 (UK); none (USA); Sony TEN 1 (India); SuperSport Variety (NGA); elsewhere
Streaming: BT Sport Live (UK); Paramount+, TUDNxtra (USA); Sony LIV (India); DStv Now (NGA)


LIVE BLOG


Be excellent to each other, and party on, dudes!