clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Chelsea vs. Southampton, Premier League: Live blog; highlights

...as it happened: live blog, updates, highlights, lineups, comments, etc.

Chelsea v Southampton - Premier League Photo by Chris Lee - Chelsea FC/Chelsea FC via Getty Images

It’s the last game before another two weeks of international boredom, so let’s make it count! We need a win to arrest this two-game slide, and we need a win to keep pace with all the early leaders of what is a very congested top of the table right now.

Mason Mount is back but does not start. But Chilwell and Hudson-Odoi and Loftus-Cheek do! And Chalobah, too! Meanwhile, Livramento starts for the visitors.

Here we go!


Chelsea starting lineup (3-4-3):
Mendy | Rüdiger, Silva, Chalobah | Chilwell, Kovačić, Loftus-Cheek, Azpilicueta | Werner, Lukaku, Hudson-Odoi

Substitutes from: Arrizabalaga, Alonso, Christensen, Barkley, Jorginho, Saúl, Havertz, Mount, Ziyech

Southampton starting lineup (4-2-3-1):
McCarthy | Walker-Peters, Salisu, Bednarek, Livramento | Romeu, Ward-Prowse | Redmond, Walcott, Tella | A.Armstrong

Substitutes from: Forster, Lyanco, Perraud, Diallo, Djenepo, S.Armstrong, Adams, Elyounoussi, Long


Date / Time: Saturday, October 2, 2021, 15.00 BST; 10am EST; 7:30pm IST
Venue: Stamford Bridge, SW6
Referee: Martin Atkinson (on pitch); Mike Dean (VAR)

On TV: none (UK); USA Network, Universo (USA); Star Sports Select HD2 (India); SuperSport MaXimo 1, Canal+ Sport 3 (NGA); elsewhere
Streaming: BBC Radio 5 Live, Chelsea TV (audio only; UK); NBC Sports Live, Telemundo Deportest En Vivo (USA); Hotstar (India); DStv Now (NGA)


LIVE BLOG


Be excellent to each other, and party on, dudes!