clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Brentford vs. Chelsea, Premier League: Live blog; highlights

...as it happened: live blog, updates, highlights, lineups, comments, etc.

Brentford v Chelsea - Premier League Photo by Marc Atkins/Getty Images

We’re back, and Chelsea have to hit the ground running after the international break, with Liverpool and Manchester City already winning today (and Liverpool winning big, 5-0). We don’t need a similar scoreline, but we do need the three points to stay on top.

With a favorable schedule over the next few weeks, this is perhaps our toughest match on paper until the next international break. Tuchel has gone with a 3-5-2, which includes Malang Sarr at left-center back due to injuries and fitness concerns. We also have RLC in midfield and Lukaku & Werner starting up top!

Here we go!


Brentford starting lineup (3-5-2):
Raya | Pinnock, Jansson (c), Zanka | Henry, Onyeka, Nørgaard, Jensen, Canós | Mbeumo, Toney

Substitutes from: Fernández, Thompson, Foode, Forss, Ghoddos, Ajer, Bidstrup, Roerslev, Maghoma

Chelsea starting lineup (3-5-2):
Mendy | Sarr, Christensen, Chalobah | Chilwell, Kovačić, Kanté, Loftus-Cheek, Azpilicueta (c) | Lukaku, Werner

Substitutes from: Arrizabalaga, Alonso, James, Barkley, Jorginho, Saúl, Havertz, Hudson-Odoi, Mount


Date / Time: Saturday, October 16, 2021, 17.30 BST; 12:30pm EDT; 10pm IST
Venue: Brentford Community Stadium, Brentford, TW8
Referee: HAHAHAHAHHAAHHAHA (Anthony Taylor); Paul Tierney (VAR)

On TV: Sky Sports Main Event (UK); NBC, Universo (USA); Star Sports Select HD1 (India); SuperSport MaXimo 1, Canal+ Sport 3 (NGA); elsewhere
Streaming: Sky Go (UK); NBC Sports Live, Telemundo Deportes En Vivo (USA); Hotstar (India); DStv Now (NGA)


LIVE BLOG


Be excellent to each other, and party on, dudes!