clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Chelsea-bound Hakim Ziyech first ever to win Ajax Player of the Year three times!

The Wizard of AMS

Chelsea FC v AFC Ajax: Group H - UEFA Champions League Photo by James Williamson - AMA/Getty Images

On Friday, Hakim Ziyech was named Player of the Year for Ajax Amsterdam for the cancelled 2019-20 season. While the Eredivisie will not award a title or hold relegation or promotion due to the COVID-19 pandemic, individual awards are still going ahead, and Ziyech won this one for the third year in a row!

Since the award’s inception in 1993, no player had won it three times, let alone three times in a row, which is saying something considering Ajax’s rich history of cultivating supreme talent. Twice-winners include the likes of Cristian Chivu, Maarten Stekelenburg, Jasper Cillessen, and Luis Suárez.

Despite the circumstances, Ziyech did manage to crack a joke at the expense of his soon-to-be former teammates.

“This is never boring, such a prize. The others should have done better.”

-Hakim Ziyech; source: Ajax via Football Oranje

Don’t worry, Hakim. Your competition next season will be even tougher!

If you haven’t seen this yet, here’s an excellent video from Ajax about “The Wizard of AMS” (turn on subtitles for English).

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the We Ain't Got No History Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Chelsea news from We Ain't Got No History