clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Eden Hazard wins PFA Fans’ Player of the Year award

The fans show their respect

Chelsea FC v Brighton & Hove Albion - Premier League Photo by Dan Istitene/Getty Images

Not many players can leave all supporters, home, away, and neutral, in a state of awe, but Chelsea have a player who does just that week in and week out.

We’re talking about Eden Hazard of course, who has been voted the PFA Fans’ Player of the Year award for the 2018/19 Premier League season. Frank Lampard was the last Chelsea player to win this award back in 2005.

The fans have spoken loud and clear after Eden was snubbed even for the PFA Team of the Year, despite leading the Premier League in assists as well as “goal contributions” with 31 (16 goals + 15 assists).

The nominees for the award included Liverpool duo Virgil van Dijk (who won the PFA Player of the Year) and Sadio Mane, as well as Manchester City trio Raheem Sterling, Bernardo Silva and Sergio Aguero. Hazard collected 34 per cent of all votes.

Chelsea may have had an inconsistent season, but Hazard has been steadily cleaning up the individual awards, winning the Premier League Playmaker of the Year award as well as every major honour available to him on Chelsea awards night, including Player of the Year, Players’ Player of the Year, and Goal of the Year.

Oh, and here’s a fun fact: this is Hazard’s 50th individual award of his exquisite football career. Here’s hoping Hazard wins many more of them for years to come in Chelsea colours!

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the We Ain't Got No History Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Chelsea news from We Ain't Got No History