clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Eden Hazard snubbed for PFA Player of the Year and Team of the Year

Well, now he HAS to stay, right, to show them the error of their ways?

Everton FC v Chelsea FC - Premier League Photo by Catherine Ivill/Getty Images


The PFA have confirmed the Mail’s report.

Get you magnifying glasses out:


The PFA’s official announcements aren’t due for at least another day, and the awards show isn’t until this weekend, but the Daily Mail has leaked the big news that Virgil van Dijk has been voted (by his peers) the PFA Player of the Year, beating out team-mate Sadio Mané, Manchester City trio Sergio Agüero, Bernardo Silva, and Raheem Sterling, and Chelsea’s own Eden Hazard.

Of those six nominees, five did make it to the Team of the Year, as one would expect, but the lone man out is our boy Eden, which is a bit silly though perhaps has something to do with the PFA assigning a 4-3-3 formation to the team (and there were four forwards nominated for Player of the Year).

As per the Daily Mail, the team includes mostly Manchester City (6) and Liverpool (4) players, as one would expect, with the only exception being Manchester United’s Paul Pogba.

They are:
Man City: Ederson, Laporte, Fernandinho, Bernardo, Aguero, Sterling
Liverpool: Robertson, Alexander-Arnold, Van Dijk, Mané

Surely Hazard, as the league’s leader in points / goal contributions / goals+assists (whatever you want to call it) surely should’ve been included if Paul “play well for two months” Pogba made it?

These awards, as ever, are inherently quite silly, especially if you don’t win.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the We Ain't Got No History Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Chelsea news from We Ain't Got No History