clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Eden Hazard bags 2019 PFA Player of the Year nomination

The Chelsea superstar is one of six nominees up for the award

Chelsea FC v West Ham United - Premier League Photo by Mike Hewitt/Getty Images

To nobody’s surprise, the nominations for the PFA’s Players’ Player of the Year award are dominated by players representing Liverpool and Manchester City, the two best and most consistent teams this season who have lit up the Premier League in terms of entertainment as well as competitiveness.

That Eden Michael Hazard, the only one of the six nominees not to play for one of the two title-contenders, managed to bag a place in the nominations, speaks volumes about his sheer brilliance.

The other nominees include Sergio Agüero, Bernardo Silva, and Raheem Sterling (all Manchester City) and Liverpool duo Virgil van Dijk and Sadio Mané.

Hazard currently leads the Premier league in goal contributions with 28 — 16 goals and 12 assists — which means that he’s had a direct hand in 49 per cent of Chelsea league goals (57) this season.

This is Hazard’s fifth nomination in his seven years in England. He won it in 2014-15 and came second in 2016-17, the two title-winning seasons in his Chelsea career.

Can Hazard bag the PFA award once again in a season which looks likely to be his last in Chelsea colours?

We all hope so!

(Meanwhile, Eden Hazard is blowing away the competition in the Chelsea Player of the Year voting. Vote now, if you haven’t yet!)

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the We Ain't Got No History Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Chelsea news from We Ain't Got No History