clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

France vs. Netherlands; Denmark vs. Wales: Preview; how to watch

New, comments

Chelsea players in international action on Sunday

Photo by BO AMSTRUP/AFP/Getty Images

We’ve arrived at the start of the second set of matches for this international break, which means we’re in the home stretch as far as the return of Chelsea football is concerned.

Here’s what in store for us today.


FRANCE vs. NETHERLANDS (Nations League A, Group 1)

Who: Olivier Giroud (82 caps), N’Golo Kanté (32)
Why: France drew 0-0 with Germany in their opening Nations League match, while for the Netherlands, this is their first ever game in the competition. (League A has three-team groups, so teams play an uneven amount of games during each international break.)

When: Sunday, September 9, 2018, 19:45 BST; 2:45pm EDT
Where: Stade de France, Paris, France
Referee: Alberto Undiano Mallenco (Spain)

On TV: Sky Sports Main Event (UK); UniMás (USA); elsewhere
Online: Sky Go (UK); ESPN+ (USA)


DENMARK vs. WALES (Nations League B, Group 4)

Who: Andreas Christensen (20) vs. Ethan Ampadu (3)
Why: After playing with replacement players in the 3-0 friendly defeat by Slovakia, Denmark sorted out their dispute with the players’ union, at least temporarily, and the real squad is back. Wales meanwhile are coming off an easy 4-0 Nations League win over Ireland, with Ethan Ampadu particularly impressive.

When: Sunday, September 9, 2018, 17:00 BST; 12pm EDT
Where: Ceres Park, Århus, Denmark
Referee: Deniz Aytekin (Germany)

On TV: Sky Sports Main Event (UK); Univision Deportes (USA); elsewhere
Online: Sky Go (UK); ESPN+ (USA)


GERMANY vs. PERU (Friendly)

Who: Antonio Rüdiger (26)

When: Sunday, September 9, 2018, 19:45 BST; 2:45pm EDT
Where: Rhein-Neckar-Arena, Sinsheim, Germany
Referee: Robert Schörgenhofer (Austria)

On TV: none (UK/USA); elsewhere
Online: ESPN+ (USA)