clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Marcos Alonso and two ex-Chelsea players named in PFA Premier League Team of the Year

New, comments

Congrats, Marcos! (And De Bruyne and Salah)

Arsenal v Chelsea - Premier League Photo by Shaun Botterill/Getty Images

It wasn’t all bad news for Marcos Alonso on Tuesday, when he learned that The FA have gone ahead with their retroactive punishment for his studs-up tackle high on the back of Shane Long’s calf (Alonso has until tomorrow to respond to the charge, but there isn’t much to debate about this one).

Our goalscoring left wing-back also learned that he’s been named to the PFA Premier League Team of the Year as the sole Chelsea representative, probably on the strength of his league goals (6) and assists (2), which are the division’s best for a defender and almost match last season’s production (6 goals and 3 assists), with four games still to play (well, two, probably, for him due to the incoming suspension).

It’s been quite a year in terms of personal achievements for Marcos, setting a new career high in appearances (43 and counting), in goals (7 in all competitions) and matching his career high in assists (4 in all competitions). He also earned his first call-up and cap for Spain and has a good chance of staying on the team for the World Cup this summer. And he’s completed yet another impactful and almost injury-free season for the Blues, which is always impressive given his workload on the left flank.

Not bad for a deadline day panic buy.

Congrats, Marcos! Save a goal for the FA Cup final, if we make it that far!

Alonso is joined by no fewer than five title-winners from Manchester City (Walker, Otamendi, Silva, De Bruyne, Aguero), three from not top-three Spurs (Vertonghen, Eriksen, Kane), and one each from the rest of the teams in the top four (De Gea, Salah).

Congrats to them as well, especially the two ex-Chelsea kids, De Bruyne and Salah, who certainly have exceeded the expectations Chelsea had for them (especially the latter).

2017-18 PFA Premier League Team of the Year | source: BBC