clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Lincoln City vs. Chelsea U21, Checkatrade Trophy semifinal: Confirmed lineups

Lincoln City v Newport County - Sky Bet League Two Photo by Chris Vaughan - CameraSport via Getty Images

In troubled times, we often turn to the youth teams for some footballing happiness, and so it may be the case this season.

Tonight, the U21s take on the first-tem of League Two side Lincoln City in the semifinals of the Checkatrade Trophy (nee Football League Trophy). Chelsea are the last academy side still left at this stage in a competition that not too many care about. But now we’re in the semifinals, with a place in the final at Wembley in April on the line. Lincoln are expected to sell out the 10,000-capacity Sincil Bank and it’s bound to a raucuous atmosphere as the Chelsea “boys” take on the Lincoln City “men”.

Here we go.


Lincoln City starting lineup (4-4-2):
Allsop | Habergham, Bostwick, Waterfall, Eardley | Anderson, Woodyard, Whitehouse, Rowe | Green, Rhead

Substitutes from: Farman, Long, Palmer, Chapman, Frecklington, Stewart, Horton

Chelsea U21 starting lineup (3-4-1-2)
Bulka | James, Ampadu, Nartey | Castillo, Chalobah, Sammut, Sterling | Hudson-Odoi | Redan, St Clair

Substitutes from: Tie, Christie-Davies, K.Hazard, Colley, C.Dasilva, Grant, Maddox


Date / Time: Tuesday, February 6, 2018, 19:45 GMT; 2:45pm EST; 1:15am IST (next day)

Venue: Sincil Bank, Lincoln, England

Referee: David Webb

On TV: Sky Sports (UK & Ireland)

Streaming online: Sky Go (UK & Ireland); talkSport 2 (radio int’l)


Kyle Scott is the only surprise absentee, with Trevoh Chalobah moving into midfield.

COME ON, CHELSEA!

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the We Ain't Got No History Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Chelsea news from We Ain't Got No History