clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Chelsea vs. Newcastle United, FA Cup: Confirmed lineups

New, comments
Chelsea v Newcastle United - The Emirates FA Cup Fourth Round Photo by Julian Finney/Getty Images

Newcastle will be looking for a high intensity start, before switching to strong defending and counter-attacking, revealed their manager, which will make it even more important for Chelsea to get off to a good start.

Here we go.


Chelsea starting lineup (3-4-3):
Caballero | Cahill (c), Christensen, Rüdiger | Alonso, Kanté, Drinkwater, Zappacosta | Hazard, Batshuayi, Pedro

Substitutes from: Eduardo, Ampadu, Moses, Fàbregas, Barkley, Musonda, Hudson-Odoi

Newcastle United starting lineup (4-2-3-1)
Darlow | Clark, Lascelles (c), Mbemba, Manquillo | Shelvey, Haïdara | Ritchie, Hayden, Saivet | Gayle

Substitutes from: Woodman, Yedlin, Dummett, Diamé, Atsu, Murphy, Joselu.


Date / Time: Sunday, January 28, 2018, 13:30 GMT; 8:30am EST; 7pm IST
Venue: Stamford Bridge, SW6
Referee: Kevin Friend
On TV: BT Sport 2 (UK); Fox Sports 1 (USA); Sony ESPN (India); elsewhere
Streaming online: BT Sport Live (UK); Fox Soccer Match Pass (USA)


Strong lineup from Antonio Conte (less so from Benítez), with plenty of attacking options on the bench this time. No David Luiz in the matchday 18 — other first-team regulars like Azpilicueta and Bakayoko are also absent, but that was expected — and there are three youngsters in Ampadu, Musonda, and Hudson-Odoi.

COME ON, CHELSEA!