clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Here’s what Morata’s ‘dive’, booking, and red card looked like from the stands

A YouTuber named Khuda Vendigar had his mobile phone’s camera rolling at just the right time in the Matthew Harding Lower to capture the series of incidents that devolved into referee Graham Scott sending off Álvaro Morata at the end of the game yesterday. Chelsea won the subsequent penalty kick shootout, so no harm done in that regard, though Morata will now miss Saturday’s game via a one-match suspension, which isn’t ideal.

Vendigar’s video doesn’t quite show the foul/dive itself, but does show the rush of blood to the head from both Morata and the referee, who brandishes the second yellow far, far too quickly. Morata does seem to indicate a VAR-motion with his hands, which is technically a bookable offense, but then again the VAR is technically supposed to review and correct the referee’s mistakes and they certainly did not do that on the Willian incident (which everybody but the referee, the VAR, and commentators Martin Tyler and Stewart Robson agreed was a stonewall penalty).

The video also reveals that there was a pitch invader, who allowed himself to be subdued rather easily while also dropping his pack of smokes that was very kindly returned to him by a Norwich player. LOL.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the We Ain't Got No History Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Chelsea news from We Ain't Got No History