clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Chelsea vs. Arsenal, League Cup semifinal 1st leg: Confirmed lineups

New, comments
Chelsea v Arsenal - Carabao Cup - Semi Final - First Leg - Stamford Bridge Photo by Mike Egerton/PA Images via Getty Images

It’s time to taste the Carabao and kick some Gunner tail. It’s Wednesday night under the lights, and it’s live!

Plus, it’s the second match ever in English club football for the VAR, so that could be interesting.

Here we go.


Chelsea starting lineup (3-5-2):
Courtois | Rudiger, Christensen, Azpilicueta | Alonso, Drinkwater, Kante, Fabregas, Moses | Hazard, Morata

Substitutes from: Eduardo, David Luiz, Zappacosta, Bakayoko, Willian, Pedro, Batshuayi

Arsenal starting lineup (3-4-2-1):
Ospina | Holding, Mustafi, Chambers | Maitland-Niles, Xhaka, Wilshere, Bellerin | Welbeck, Iwobi | Lacazette

Substitutes from: Macey, Mavropanos, Mertesacker, Nelson, Elneny, Walcott, Alexis


Date / Time: Wednesday, January 10, 2018, 20:00 GMT; 3pm EST; 1:30am IST (next day)
Venue: Stamford Bridge, SW6
Referee: Martin Atkinson
On TV: Sky Sports Main Event (UK); ESPN2, ESPN Deportes (USA); none? (India); elsewhere
Streaming online: Sky Go (UK); ESPN3 (USA)


Chelsea make two changes to the starting lineup from last week’s Premier League game against Arsenal, with Rudiger coming in for Cahill (who’s not in the matchday squad at all for some reason; rested?) and Drinkwater starting instead of Bakayoko. Good changes, those.

Arsenal meanwhile leave Alexis on the bench and Ozil and Cech are out completely. Xhaka and Mustafi pass their fitness tests, but this lineup looks very beatable.

Let’s go.

COME ON, CHELSEA.