clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Chelsea vs. Manchester City, Premier League: Confirmed lineups

New, comments

A mouth-watering encounter at the top end of the table.

Chelsea will have to dig deep as Pep Guardiola’s rampant Manchester City side visit Stamford Bridge, a mere three days after the Blues produced a masterclass at the Wanda Metropolitano in Madrid.


Chelsea starting lineup (3-5-2):

Courtois | Cahill (c), Christensen, Rüdiger | Alonso, Kanté, Fabregas, Bakayoko, Azpilicueta | Hazard, Morata

Substitutes from: Caballero, Kenedy, Moses, Zappacosta, Pedro, Willian Batshuayi

Manchester City starting lineup (4-2-3-1):

Ederson | Delph, Otamendi, Stones, Walker | Fernandinho, David Silva | de Bruyne, Sterling, Sane | Gabriel Jesus

Substitutes from: Bravo, Danilo, Gundogan, Mangala, Bernardo Silva, Zinchenko, Toure


Date / Time: Saturday, September 30, 17:30 BST; 12:30pm EDT; 10pm IST

Venue: Stamford Bridge, SW6

Referee: Martin Atkinson

Forecast: Light showers

On TV: BT Sport 1 (UK); NBCSN, Universo (USA); Star Sports HD1 (India); elsewhere

Streaming online: BT Sport Live (UK); NBC Sports Live Extra, Telemundo Deportes En Vivo (USA); Hotstar (India)


Conte keeps the 3-5-2, then, but has Azpilicueta at right wing-back instead of Moses or Zappacosta. Christensen replaces David Luiz as expected, but otherwise the XI is unchanged from the Atletico game. Guardiola, meanwhile, is clearly holding nothing back and has opted for his standard all-out-attack line-up with Fabian Delph preferred to Danilo at left-back.

Let’s do this!