clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Atletico Madrid vs. Chelsea, Champions League: Confirmed lineups

Atletico Madrid v Chelsea FC - UEFA Champions League Photo by David Ramos/Getty Images

Chelsea will be debuting the new Nike third kits today. Hopefully they’ll bring just as much good luck as they did for the U19s, who won in them earlier today, beating Atletico 3-1, thanks to first half goals from Charlie Brown, Dujon Sterling, and Jacob Maddox.

So now it’s the first-team’s turn.

Here we go.


Atletico Madrid starting lineup (4-4-2):
Oblak | Filipe Luis, Lucas, Godin (c), Juanfran | Carrasco, Thomas, Koke, Saul | Griezmann, Correa

Substitutes from: Moya, Savic, Gimenez, Gabi, Gaitan, Vietto, Torres

Chelsea starting lineup (3-5-2):
Courtois | Cahill (c), David Luiz, Azpilicueta | Alonso, Kante, Fabregas, Bakayoko, Moses | Hazard, Morata

Substitutes from: Caballero, Rudiger, Christensen, Zappacosta, Pedro, Willian, Batshuayi


Date / Time: Wednesday, September 27, 19:45 BST; 2:45pm EDT; 12:15am IST (next day)
Venue: Wanda Metropolitano, Madrid, Spain
Referee: Cüneyt Çakır
Forecast: Seasonably hot during the day and warm at night still.
On TV: BT Sport 2 (UK); FOX Sports regional networks & affiliates, ESPN Deportes (USA); Sony Six (India); elsewhere
Streaming online: BT Sport Live (UK); FOX Soccer Match Pass, ESPN3 (select regions) (USA); Sony LIV (India)


As expected, Chelsea line up in the 3-5-2, with all three of Kante, Bakayoko, and Fabregas getting the start and Eden Hazard supporting Alvaro Morata up front. In the back, Cahill is preferred to Rudiger and Moses gets the nod over Zappacosta.

COME ON, CHELSEA!

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the We Ain't Got No History Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Chelsea news from We Ain't Got No History