clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Chelsea vs. Nottingham Forest, League Cup: Confirmed lineups

New, comments

We’re all set for a rematch of the 1971-72 League Cup third round tie between Chelsea and Nottingham Forest, with the Blues using that occasion (which was technically a replay of the initial 1-1 draw away, back when the League Cup used to do replays) for the commemorative cover of tonight’s match programme.

Chelsea would go on to reach the final of that season’s competition, only to lose to Stoke City. Maybe we can do one better this season?

One step at a time.


Chelsea starting lineup (3-4-3):
Caballero | Cahill (c), Christensen, Rudiger | Kenedy, Fabregas, Bakayoko, Zappacosta | Hazard, Batshuayi, Musonda Jr

Substitutes from: Eduardo, Clarke-Salter, Sterling, Ampadu, Moses, Willian, Morata

Nottingham Forest starting eleven:
Henderson | Lichaj, Mancienne (c), Osborn, Fox, Dowell, Hobbs, Bouchalakis, Walker, Cummings, Worrall

Substitutes from: Smith, McKay, Clough, Brereton, Carayol, Darikwa, Vellios


Date / Time: Wednesday, September 20, 19:45 BST; 2:45pm EDT; 12:15am IST (next day)
Venue: Stamford Bridge, SW6
Referee: Chris Kavanagh
On TV: none (UK); none (USA); none (India); elsewhere (basically beIN Arabia or Kwesé)
Streaming online: ESPN3 (USA); BBC Radio (UK radio); ChelseaTV (int’l radio)


Chelsea line up exactly as expected and that’s wonderful because it gets Musonda his first start, gets Hazard back in the lineup and gives us lots of rotation. Also as expected, youngsters Jake Clarke-Salter, Dujon Sterling, and Ethan Ampadu are all on the bench (Kyle Scott has picked up an illness).

COME ON, CHELSEA!