clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Chelsea vs. Middlesbrough, Premier League: Confirmed lineups

New, comments
Michael Steele/Getty Images

Chelsea need two wins to become Champions of England.

Here's an excellent opportunity for one of those two, with 19th-place Middlesbrough coming to town.  Anything but a win confirms their relegation, but even in that unlikely scenario, their chance of survival is a long-shot at best.  An early goal could be quite helpful in deflating any hopes they may still harbor.

None of that means we should be taking this easy just yet.

Here we go.

---

Chelsea starting lineup (3-4-3):
Courtois | Cahill (c), David Luiz, Azpilicueta | Alonso, Matic, Fabregas, Moses | Hazard, Costa, Pedro

Substitutes from: Begovic, Terry, Zouma, Ake, Chalobah, Loftus-Cheek, Willian

Middlesbrough starting eleven:
Guzan | Fabio, Chambers, Gibson, Friend, Clayton, De Roon, Forshaw, Traore, Downing, Negrego

Substitutes from: Dimi, Barragan, Bernardo, Leadbitter, Guedioura, Bamford, Gestede

---

Date / Time: Monday, May 8, 20:00 BST; 3pm EDT; 12:30am IST
Venue: Stamford Bridge, SW6
Referee: Craig Pawson
On TV: Sky Sports 1 (UK); NBCSN (USA); Star Sports Select HD1 (India); elsewhere
Streaming online: Sky Go (UK); NBC Sports Live Extra (USA); Hotstar (India)

---

David Luiz is fit to play, but N'Golo Kante isn't.  As expected then, just like the previous time Kante had to miss a league game, it's Matic-Fabregas in the midfield, the rest as usual.

COME ON, CHELSEA!